NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Finally Sena joins Maharashtra govt, 10 ministers sworn-in

Finally Sena joins Maharashtra govt, 10 ministers sworn-in

December 05, 2014 18:23 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party and Shiv Sena are ruling Maharashtra once again after 15 years with the induction of ten ministers from Shiv Sena in the 35-day old Devendra Fadnavis-led government in Maharashtra on Friday afternoon.

Sena's joining the BJP government now is unique, because this is the first time a party sitting in the opposition -- albeit for a short duration -- is switching sides.

Subhash Desai being sworn-in

Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao administered the oath of office to 20 ministers, including 10 from BJP. Ten cabinet ministers, five each from BJP and Sena, were sworn in.

Cabinet ministers who took the oath were Girish Bapat (BJP), Girish Mahajan (BJP), Diwakar Raote (Shiv Sena), Subhash Desai (SS), Ramdas Kadam (SS), Eknath Shinde (SS), Chandrashekhar Bawankule (BJP), Babanrao Lonikar (BJP), Dr Deepak Sawant (SS) and Rajkumar Badole (BJP).

Ministers of state sworn in were Ram Shinde (BJP), Vijay Deshmukh (BJP), Sanjay Rathod (Shiv Sena), Dada Bhuse (SS), Vijay Shivtare (SS), Deepak Kesarkar (SS), Raje Amrish Atram (BJP), Ravindra Waikar (SS), Dr Ranjit Patil (BJP) and Pravin Pote (BJP).

Deepak Ramachandra Sawant

Two more Sena ministers are expected to take oath during the next cabinet expansion, possibly after the winter session of the state legislature.

When Fadnavis was sworn in as the chief minister on October 31, nine other ministers, all from BJP, took oath. No Sena minister was sworn in then, as talks between the two parties, which had contested the Assembly polls separately, were inconclusive.

The Nationalist Congress Party had offered "unsolicited" outside support to the BJP government, which won a trust vote earlier this month.

Diwakar Raote

Sena president Uddhav Thackeray and his family members were present today to witness his partymen, who were wearing saffron phetas (turbans), being sworn in.

The Republican Party of India leader Ramdas Athawale and Shivsangram leader Vinayak Mete, whose parties were BJP's pre-poll allies, were also present. However, no one from these two parties was sworn in.

Congress and NCP leaders, who had attended the October 31 ceremony, were conspicuous by their absence.

The last time BJP and Sena were in power was during 1995-99 when it was the Sena which was in the role of 'big brother' and had the chief minister's post while BJP had the deputy chief minister's post.

Eknath Sambhaji Shinde

This time, the roles have been reversed; however Sena does not even have the solace of having one of its leaders as deputy chief minister as Fadnavis on Thursday said the ministry won't have this post.

Announcing the formation of an alliance government in Mumbai on Thursday, Fadnavis, flanked by senior Sena leaders, said the two parties had decided to run the government in alliance "to honour the sentiment of the people who want to see the Sena and BJP work together for Maharashtra".

Girish Mahajan

After the 25-year-old Sena-BJP alliance broke up just before the October elections, Sena consciously targeted its former ally during the election campaign.

With the BJP failing to achieve a simple majority in the elections and the Sena getting nowhere close to the number needed to form the government, revival of the alliance became imperative for both.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.