NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » 15 PML-Q members inducted into Pak cabinet

15 PML-Q members inducted into Pak cabinet

June 26, 2012 00:17 IST

Fifteen lawmakers of the Pakistan Muslim League-Q, a key ally of the ruling Pakistan Peoples Party, were on Monday included in new Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf's council of ministers.

In a separate development, PML-Q leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi has been appointed as the deputy prime minister with immediate effect and until further orders.

The move will not confer on him "any powers of the prime minister in any manner whatsoever", said a notification issued by the Cabinet Division.

President Asif Ali Zardari administered oath of office to the 15 new ministers during a ceremony held at the presidency this evening.

Eight lawmakers were inducted as federal ministers while seven were inducted as ministers of state. Sardar Bahadur Khan Sehar, Liaquat Abbas Bhatti, Sardar Talib Hussain Nakai, Sheikh Waqas Akram, Anwar Ali Cheema, Ghous Bukhsh Mehr, Jam Muhammad Yousaf and Chaudhry Wajahat Hussain took oath as federal ministers.

Rana Asif Tauseef, Malik Nauman Ahmed Langrial, Sardar Shahjehan Yousaf, Senator Saeed Khan Mandokhel, Chaudhry Ghias Ahmed Mela, Akram Masih Gill and Khawaja Sheraz Mehmood were inducted as ministers of state.

Prime Minister Ashraf, PML-Q chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Balochistan Chief Minister Aslam Raisani and cabinet members attended the ceremony.

On June 23, a total of 38 lawmakers had been sworn in as ministers along with Ashraf. While 27 were inducted as federal ministers, another 11 were sworn in as ministers of  state. The total strength of the council of ministers now is 53.

Ashraf retained most key members of former premier Yousuf Raza Gilani's cabinet in the same positions when he allocated portfolios among his council of ministers.

Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi was the only PML-Q leader who was sworn in on June 23. He was given the defence production and industries portfolios. The portfolios of the PML-Q ministers sworn in on Monday are expected to be announced on Tuesday, official sources said.

Rezaul H Laskar in Islamabad
© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.