» News » ED issues notices to members of Adarsh Housing Society

ED issues notices to members of Adarsh Housing Society

Source: PTI
April 15, 2012 18:01 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

In fresh trouble for members of the scam-tainted Adarsh Housing Society, which is already under a probe by the Central Bureau of Investigation, the Enforcement Directorate has issued notices to the Society and its members, asking them to furnish information regarding payment towards the purchase of flats.

The ED began its probe into allegations of money laundering and benami transactions after facing severe criticism from the Bombay high court for failing to initiate an inquiry into the scam despite receiving information from the CBI.

The high court, while hearing a PIL, had come down heavily on the ED for not initiating an inquiry into allegations of benami transactions.

Following this, the agency issued summons to the members of the Society, directing them to furnish information regarding purchase of flats in the 31-storey plush Society in south Mumbai and the mode of payment, ED sources said.

While some members had furnished the replies, others are yet to do so, the sources said, adding that those arrested by the CBI had sought more time to comply to the notices.

Those arrested include the Society's secretary R C Thakur, retired brigadier M M Wanchoo, former Congress member of legislative assembly Kanhaiyalal Gidwani and Pradeep Vyas, former Mumbai collector.

The ED had earlier told the high court, while submitting a status report, that it was probing if any offence under the Prevention of Money Laundering Act was committed by any members and if any flat was purchased through proceeds of crime.

The CBI, which registered a case in January last year against 14 people, has so far arrested nine persons including IAS officers Jairaj Phatak and Ramanand Tiwari, retired major generals A R Kumar and T K Kaul and P V Deshmukh, a former deputy secretary in the Urban department.

The remaining five accused are former Maharashtra chief minister Ashok Chavan, former principal secretary to the chief minister Subhash Lala, retired Colonel T K Sinha, retired brigadier P K Rampal and retired deputy GOC R C Sharma.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus