NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » DMK, Cong finalise constituencies for TN polls

DMK, Cong finalise constituencies for TN polls

Last updated on: March 16, 2011 12:56 IST

After days of haggling, ruling Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and its key ally Congress today finalised on the 63 constituencies to be contested by the national party for the April 13 assembly elections, amid indications by the Congress about possible power-sharing in case the combine won.

"The aspirations of Congress men and women will be met," Tamil Nadu Congress Committee president K V Thangkabalu said when asked if the two parties had worked out a strategy on power-sharing in the event of the DMK-led alliance winning the elections.

The Congress, propping up the outgoing DMK government with the crucial support of its 34 MLAs, has been pressuring the Dravidian party to share power with it.

The demand for cabinet berths from leaders like former TNCC president EVKS Elangovan had in the past been cold-shouldered by the DMK, which has six ministers in the United Progressive Alliance-II cabinet.

Speaking to mediapersons at TNCC headquarters, Satyamurthy Bhavan, after signing the agreement with DMK president and Chief Minister M Karunanidhi, Thangkabalu said the party was contesting in all districts except Dharmapuri and Theni.

Interestingly, the DMK allotted five seats from its bastion, Chennai, to Congress. Top DMK leaders, including Karunanidhi and his son MK Stalin and some cabinet colleagues including Finance Minister K Anbazhagan, represent different constituencies in Chennai.

Anna Nagar, presently represented by Electricity Minister Arcot N Veeraswamy, and nearby Alandur (Kanchipuram district) by Labour Minister TM Anbarasan are two important seats allotted to Congress by DMK.

Besides, Thiru.Vi. Ka Nagar, Thygaraya Nagar, Mylapore and Royapuram have also been allotted.

Thangkabalu, who was also a member of the Congress election panel that held discussions with its DMK counterpart on seat-sharing, said the 63 seats, 15 more than alloted to it in 2006, consists of constituencies of sitting

Thangkabalu highlighted the increased number of seat allocations to Congress both in two Lok Sabha polls as well as assembly elections.

The two parties had first joined hands for the 2004 Lok Sabha polls. Asked if the 2G spectrum scam in connection with which DMK leader and former Telecom Minister A Raja has been lodged in prison, would affect Congress prospects in Chennai, he said all the 234 seats in the state were "winnable".

"We will work to ensure the victory of alliance party members also," he said. Among others, the DMK has also allotted Radhapuram (Tirunelveli district) to Congress, which is presently represented by DMK's M Appavu.

Thangkabalu said applications from MLA aspirants will be received on Wednesday and a day after, they will be sent to the party high command to take a final call.

Now, all eyes are on the DMK which is scheduled to release its candidates list on Wednesday.

Tuesday's agreement comes after week-long intense negotiations following the seat-sharing deal signed between Congress and DMK, which unlike in the past was made to yield due to the tough stand taken by the national party.

Under the pact, DMK will contest 121 seats, Pattali Makkal Katchi 30, Viduthlalai Chiruthaigal Katchi 10, Kongu Nadu Munnetra Kazhagam seven, Indian Union Muslim League two and Moovender Munetra Kazhagam one, the last two seeking election on the DMK symbol.

The following are the constituencies from where the Congress will contest:

1. Tirutani

2. Poonamallee

3. Avadi

4. Thiru VK Nagar

5. Royapuram

6. Anna Nagar

7. T Nagar

8. Mylapore

9. Alandur

10. Tirupathur

11. Maduranthaagam

12. Solinggar

13. Vellore

14. Ambur

15. Krishnagiri

16. Hosur

17. Sengam

18. Kalasapakkam

19. Cheyyar

20. Rishivanddiyam

21. Aathur

22. Salem North

23. Tiruchengodu

24. Erode west

25. Modakuracchi

26. Kangeyam

27. Ooty

28. Avinashi

29. Tirupur south

30. Thondamuthur

31. Singanallur

32. Valparai

33. Nilakootai

34. Vedasenthur

35. Karur

36. Manaparai

37. Musuri

38. Ariyalur

39. Virudhachalam

40. Mayilaadurai

41. Tiruthuraipoondi

42. Papanasam

43. Pattukootai

44. Perauraani

45. Thirumaaiyam

46. Arantangi

47. Karaikudi

48. Sivaganga

49. Madurai North

50. Madurai South

51. Tiruparamkundram

52. Virudhunagar

53. Paramakudi

54. Ramanathapuram

55. Vilathhikulam

56. Thiruvaikundam

57. Vasudeevanallurr

58. Kadayaallur

59. Nanguneri

60. Radhapuram

61. Colechal

62. Vilavangodu, and


© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.