Print this article

BJP MLA in J-K assembly insists on taking oath in name of Vaishno Devi

Last updated on: March 17, 2015 17:19 IST

As the 12th assembly came in form on Tuesday, Bharatiya Janata Party Member of Legislative Assembly Ravinder Raina triggered a controversy when he took the name of Mata Vaishno Devi while taking oath as MLA in the name of God, drawing objections from the opposition.

Raina, who is an MLA from the Noushera assembly segment and head of state BJP youth wing, came upto the Speaker's chair and took oath in the name of Mata Vaishnodevi and said "I do swear in the name of Mata Vaishnodevi".

Communist Party of India-Marxist MLA M Y Tarigami objected to him first and said there is a prescribed format for taking oath in the name of God (Ishwar).

"It was not provided to swear in the name of Vaishnodevi. The member can swear in the name of Ishwar," Tarigami said. Others from opposition, including National Conference and the Congress, supported Tarigami over objection.

However, Protem Speaker Mohmmad Shafi intervened asking Raina to take oath in the name of God. Raina tried to convince opposition members and said "I am a worshipper of Ma Vaishnodevi and consider her as my Ishwar".

He told the house that some people take oath in the names of Jesus and Allah, why can't he take the oath in the name of Mata Vaishnodevi.

"If I am doing that it will be true respect to my Ishwar," he added. His statement drew clappings from the people sitting in the visitors gallery on the stand of Raina, raising objection from opposition NC benches.

They said that it is not the meeting of a political party and the member needs to advise his supporters to take the proceedings of the house seriously. Later, after the intervention of the Deputy Chief Minister Nirmal Singh, Raina took oath in Hindi in the name of Ishwar.

Raina before joining BJP has been a Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh worker after resigning as commissioned officer from Indian Navy. On coming out of the assembly complex, Raina unfurled a tricolour and started chanting with his supporters 'Bharat Mata Ki Jai...Jai Mata Jai-- Bharat Mata Ki Jai'.

All BJP legislators, except Deputy Chief Minister Nirmal Singh, came to the House wearing Dogra turbans. Before coming to the assembly, they garlanded the statue of late Maharaja Hari Singh, the last Dogra ruler of the state, and Prem Nath Dogra as a matter of respect.

Chief Minister Mufti Sayeed was the first one to take oath. Former Chief Minister Omar Abdullah also took oath among others.

Image for representation only

© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.