» News » BJP fields ex-militant leader against Meghalaya CM

BJP fields ex-militant leader against Meghalaya CM

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Hemant Waje
Last updated on: February 03, 2023 00:53 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday announced Bernard N Marak, its state unit vice-president and a former militant leader, as its official candidate against Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma in South Tura constituency.

IMAGE: Meghalaya BJP vice-president Bernard N Marak. Photograph:Bernard Rimpu N Marak on Facebook

The saffron party will contest all the 60 seats in the Meghalaya assembly and announced names of all its candidates on Thursday.

It had last month decided to break away from the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance led by Conrad Sangma and go it alone in the state election, a party spokesman said.

Bernard Marak, known to be vocal against Conrad Sangma, was last year arrested and charged with immoral trafficking and running a brothel in his farmhouse at Tura.

He had joined Achik National Volunteer Council (ANVC), an armed militant group, to carve out a separate state for Garo tribals.

However, he laid down arms in 2014 and disbanded his group, the ANVC (B).

He is also a member of the district council of Tura.


Among those whose names featured in the list were BJP's two sitting MLAs -- Sanbor Shullai and A L Hek -- who will contest from South Shillong and Pynthorukhrah constituencies in the city, he said.

Sitting MLAs who quit other parties in the past few months and joined BJP were also accommodated in the list. Among them are H M Shangpliang, Ferlin Sangma, Benedict Marak and Samuel M Sangma who will contesting from Mawsynram, Selsella, Raksamgre and Baghmara constituencies respectively.

State BJP president Ernest Mawrie who unsuccessfully contested from Nongthymmai constituency in 2018 will contest from West Shillong constituency. M H Kharkrang, the party spokesperson, will contest from North Shillong constituency, according to the party.

The party also fielded seven women candidates, including former NPP MLA Ferlin Sangma, the spokesman said.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Hemant Waje© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.