NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » BJP declares list of 62 candidates for Delhi assembly polls

BJP declares list of 62 candidates for Delhi assembly polls

January 20, 2015 01:54 IST

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday declared a list of 62 candidates out of a total of 70 for the February 7 Delhi assembly elections, with its chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi contesting from Krishna Nagar and former Union Minister Krishna Tirath from Patel Nagar seat.

Former Delhi minister and senior party leader Jagdish Mukhi will contest from Janakpuri seat while former Delhi BJP chief Vijendra Gupta has been fielded from the Rohini seat.

The party has decided to field a young face to take on Aam Aadmi Party convener Arvind Kejriwal and has nominated former Delhi University Students Union president and party's Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha leader Nupur Sharma from the New Delhi constituency.

The party has decided not to field its Delhi BJP president Satish Upadhyay, who will lead the party. The BJP has nominated all its sitting MLAs and will leave some seats for its ally the Shiromani Akali Dal, which had contested in four seats in the last election.

The list of 62 party candidates was announced after a meeting of the BJP's Central Election Committee chaired by BJP President Amit Shah and attended among others by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Other Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj also attended the CEC meeting.

Former Delhi Assembly Speaker M S Dheer, who switched to the BJP from the AAP, will contest from Jangpura and former AAP Member of Legislative Assembly Vinod Kumar Binny will contest from Patpargaj seat where he faces AAP leader Manish Sisodia.

Delhi's former mayor Rajni Abby will contest from Timarpur seat, while senior party leader R P Singh will contest from Rajindra Nagar seat.

"The party has taken care that all sections of the society were given due representation. The party has renominated all its sitting MLAs and fielded over 20 youth and five women candidates," BJP general secretary and Union Minister J P Nadda told reporters after the CEC meeting.

Against 12 SC seats, the party has fielded 13 dalit faces, Nadda said.

When asked about not fielding Upadhyay, he said he will not contest the polls as the elections will be contested under his stewardship and he has a lot of responsibility on him.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.