NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » AIADMK takes lead in by-poll to TN assembly seat

AIADMK takes lead in by-poll to TN assembly seat

June 15, 2012 11:01 IST

The ruling All India Anna Dravida Munetra Kazhagam established a comfortable lead over its closest rival DMDK in the by-election to Pudukkottai Assembly constituency on Friday.

At the end of the fourth round of counting of votes polled in the June 12 by-poll,  AIADMK's Karthik Thondaiman has secured 17,871 votes against Jahir Husssain's 6,249, a lead of 11,622 votes, officials said.

The by-poll witnessed a virtual straight contest between AIADMK and Vijaykant-led Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam.  The Dravida Munetra Kazhagam and Vaiko's Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam did not contest the by-election.

The bypoll was necessitated by the death of Communist party of India Member of Parliament SP Muthukumaran in a road accident on April 1.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.