» News » AFSPA extended in Arunachal Pradesh for 6 months

AFSPA extended in Arunachal Pradesh for 6 months

October 03, 2018 15:19 IST

The Centre has extended the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act in three districts of Arunachal Pradesh and its eight police station areas bordering Assam by another six months, in view of continuing activities of banned insurgent groups of the Northeast.

According to a notification issued by the ministry of home affairs, Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts of Arunachal Pradesh and eight police stations bordering Assam were declared “disturbed” areas under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act (AFSPA), 1958.


“Now, therefore, Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts in Arunachal Pradesh and the areas falling within the jurisdiction of the following eight police stations in the districts of Arunachal Pradesh, bordering the State of Assam, are declared as ‘disturbed area’ under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 up to March 31, 2019 w.e.f. October 1, 2018, unless withdrawn earlier,” the notification said.

The police stations include Balemu and Bhalukpong police stations in West Kameng district, Seijosa police station in East Kameng district, Balijan police station in Papumpare district, Namsai and Mahadevpur police stations in Namsai district, Roing police station in Lower Dibang Valley district and Sunpura police station in Lohit district.

The decision was taken following a review of the law and order situation in the three districts and eight police station areas concerned, a home ministry official said.

Banned insurgent groups National Socialist Council of Nagaland-Khaplang United Liberation Front Of Assam and National Democratic Front of Boroland are active in these areas of Arunachal Pradesh.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.