» News » 31 ministers join Nitish govt, RJD gets lion's share

31 ministers join Nitish govt, RJD gets lion's share

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Hemant Waje
Last updated on: August 17, 2022 01:25 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar expanded his new cabinet on Tuesday by inducting 31 new ministers, including a huge contingent of 16 from key ally Rashtriya Janata Dal, taking care to give due representation to all sections of society, including minorities.

IMAGE: Mahagathbandhan leaders take oath at Raj Bhavan, in Patna. Photograph: PTI Photo

Of the council of ministers, 11 are from Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal-United, two from Congress and one from ex-CM Jitan Ram Manjhi's Hindustani Aawam Morcha, besides an Independent.

The swearing in took place at Raj Bhavan, where Governor Phagu Chauhan administered oath of office to the inductees in batches of five and six.


Kumar and Deputy CM Tejashwi Prasad Yadav, who had been sworn in earlier on August 10, were among those present.

RJD president Lalu Prasad's elder son Tej Pratap Yadav enjoyed a pride of place, as the second-term MLA took oath in the first batch, alongside party veteran Alok Mehta, JD-U heavyweights Vijay Kumar Chaudhary and Bijendra Yadav and Mohd Afaque Alam of the Congress.

The mercurial MLA was, however, uncharacteristically solemn and no sooner than the CM arrived at the Rajendra Mandapam hall before the swearing in commenced, Yadav got up to greet the latter by touching his feet.

Kumar blessed the maverick leader, keeping whom on a tight leash could be a challenge, before proceeding to have a chat with Tejashwi, the younger but more mature sibling on whose shoulders lies the burden of keeping family feud and unruly party cadres under check.

The new cabinet, predictably, has a sizeable number of Yadavs and Muslims, though members of other sections of the society also find a place.

Three of the ministers are women -- Sheela Kumari and Leshi Singh (both JD-U) and Anita Devi (RJD).

There are altogether seven Yadavs from RJD, including the two sons of Lalu Prasad Yadav, besides Bijendra Yadav of the JD-U.

Others from the populous caste group in Bihar include Lalit Yadav, Surendra Prasad, Chandrashekhar, Ramanand Yadav and Jitendra Kumar Rai.

There are five Muslims -- Zama Khan (JD-U), Mohd Afaque Alam (Congress) and Mohd Shamim, Mohd Israil Mansuri and Shahnawaz Alam (all RJD).

Comparatively, the last Nitish Kumar cabinet in alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party, had as Muslim representation Senior BJP leader Syed Shahnawaz Hussain besides Zama Khan.

The sizeable number of Muslims and Yadavs, apparently, led BJP national spokesman Sanjay Mayukh to allege 'this is not a cabinet headed by Nitish Kumar. It bears the imprint of Tejashwi Yadav. We will expose the inherent contradictions of this opportunistic alliance'.

Although a pro-OBC bias was expected in the alliance dominated by RJD and JD-U, both owing their rise to the Mandal agitation, members of the upper castes also find a place.

While Vijay Kumar Chaudhary and RJD debutant Kartikeya Singh are Bhumihars, Leshi Singh (JD-U), Sumit Kumar Singh (Indpendent) and Sudhakar Singh (RJD) are Rajputs. Sanjay Kumar Jha of JD-U is representative of the Brahmins.

Five Dalits -- Ashok Choudhary (JD-U), Kumar Sarvajeet and Surendra Ram (RJD), Murari Gautam (Congress) and Santosh Kumar Suman (HAM) have been included in the new cabinet.

Others who took oath include the CM's close aide Shravan Kumar, who belongs to the same Kurmi caste and Nalanda district, Madan Sahni and Jayant Raj.

BJP president Sanjay Jaiswal came out with a Facebook post ruing 'a decline in the representation of extremely backward classes, from six to only three'.

There was a buzz that Awadh Bihari Chaudhary, a veteran RJD leader who was initially expected to be inducted in the ministry, may now be considered for the post of the Speaker.

"I have received no such intimation. But if I am assigned the responsibility, I will discharge my duties to the best of my abilities," said Chaudhary, who was present at the Raj Bhavan.

The 'Mahagathbandhan', comprising the RJD, JD-U, Congress and the Left, has moved a no-confidence motion against Speaker Vijay Kumar Sinha, who belongs to the BJP.

All the ministers from the JD-U, besides HAM's Santosh Kumar Suman and Indpendent Sumit Kumar Singh, were members in the previous government.

The Left is supporting the government from outside.

Party-wise list of ministers in new Bihar cabinet

1. Nitish Kumar (JD-U): Chief Minister, home, general administration, cabinet secretariat, election, and any other departments not assigned to others

2. Tejashwi Yadav (RJD): Deputy CM, health, road construction, urban housing and development and rural works

3. Vijay Kumar Chaudhary (JD-U): Finance, commercial tax and parliamentary affairs

4. Bijendra Yadav (JD-U): Power and planning and development

5. Shravan Kumar (JD-U): Rural development

6. Ashok Choudhary (JD-U): Building construction

7. Leshi Singh (JD-U): Food and consumer protection

8. Sanjay Kumar Jha (JD-U): Water resources and information and public relations

9. Madan Sahni (JD-U): Social welfare

10. Sheela Kumari (JD-U): Transport

11. Sunil Kumar (JD-U): Prohibition, excise and registration

12. Mohd Zama Khan (JD-U): Minority affairs

13. Jayant Raj (JD-U)- Minor water resources

14. Tej Pratap Yadav (RJD): Environment, forestry and climate change

15. Alok Mehta (RJD): Revenue and land reforms

16. Surendra Prasad Yadav (RJD): Cooperatives

17. Ramanand Yadav (RJD): Mining and geology

18. Kumar Sarvajeet (RJD): Tourism

19. Lalit Yadav (RJD): Public health engineering

20. Samir Kumar Mahaseth (RJD): Industries

21. Chandrashekhar (RJD): Education

22. Jitendra Kumar Rai (RJD): Art, culture and youth affairs

23. Anita Devi (RJD): OBC and EBC welfare

24. Sudhakar Singh (RJD): Agriculture

25. Md Israil Mansuri (RJD): Information technology

26. Surendra Ram (RJD): Labour resources

27. Kartikeya Singh (RJD): Law

28. Shahnawaz Alam (RJD): Disaster management

29. Shamim Ahmed (RJD): Sugarcane industry

30. Afaque Alam (Congress): Animal husbandry and fisheries

31. Murari Gautam (Congress): Panchayati Raj

32. Santosh Kumar Suman (HAM): SC/ST welfare

33. Sumit Kumar Singh (Independent): Science and technology

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Hemant Waje© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus