Futile 5-month search for IIM-A chairman
December 31, 2015
Anil Naik, L&C chairman steps down as IIM-A chairman.
The IIM-A's board of governors, headed by the chairman, has 15 members (including 2 from Centre, 1 from state government).
January 1, 2016
Search panel headed by Anil Naik set up. Other members are:

Sanjay Lalbhai CMD, Arvind Ltd

Pankaj Patel, CMD, Cadila Healthcare

D Shivakumar chairman & CEO, PepsiCo India Holdings
March 2016
Search panel meets to finalise names.
Recommends 3 candidates:

R Seshasayee, chairman of the Board of Directors of Infosys

Pawan Munjal, CMD of Hero MotoCorp

Deepak Parekh, chairman, HDFC Ltd
May 2016
HRD ministry shoots down names
Reason: No government nominee was present during the search committee’s meetings in March.
What next
It is back to the drawing board for IIM-A, as a new search panel will have to be set up to finalise fresh names.