Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:

Home > India > News > PTI

   Discuss   |      Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop

Varun Gandhi, Rajnath among BJP's candidates for Lok Sabha polls

November 11, 2008 16:05 IST

Bharatiya Janata Party president Rajnath Singh will contest the Lok Sabha elections, due next year, from Ghaziabad while senior leader Murli Manohar Joshi will be in the fray from Varanasi, the party announced on Tuesday.

The main Opposition party declared 11 candidates for the next Lok Sabha elections, which will see Varun Gandhi, son of BJP leader Maneka Gandhi, make his electoral debut from the family pocket-borough of Pilibhit.

Maneka Gandhi, who represents Pilibhit in the 14th Lok Sabha, will shift to neighbouring Aonla parliamentary constituency.

Senior leaders Kalyan Singh, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Ashok Pradhan and Santosh Gangwar will test the electoral waters from Etah, Rampur, Bulandshahr and Bareilly respectively.

Yogi Adityanath will contest from Gorakhpur, Bhanu Pratap Verma from Jalaun and Pankaj Chaudhary from Maharajganj, the party said.

© Copyright 2008 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Email   |      Print   |   Get latest news on your desktop