You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » Report
Search: The Web
  Discuss this Article   |      Email this Article   |      Print this Article

Samajwadi MP says 7 will vote against UPA
A Ganesh Nadar
Related Articles
Complete coverage: The Indo-US nuclear tango
Get news updates:What's this?
July 09, 2008 19:38 IST

Munawwar Hasan, the Samajwadi Party member of Parliament from Muzaffarnagar in Uttar Pradesh is among those from his party who refuse to toe the party line on backing the United Progressive Alliance government on the Indo-US nuclear deal.

Hasan is clear that he will vote against the government, and refuses to change his view even at the cost of losing his party membership.

He has chosen to oppose the party line and vote against the Government, and says he is not going to change his view even at the cost of loosing his party membership.

He told, "I am opposing the nuclear deal with the Americans. America is against the interests of Muslims. Muslims hate Americans. If this deal goes through, then Americans will make a lot of money.

"They will use the money to make bombs and then bomb Muslims with it. We are not going to let that happen. We are against the Americans. We are not interested in the power part of the deal, we are opposing the fact that it's a deal with the United States."

Hasan is also very clear where his interests lie. "We are on the same side as UP Chief Minister Mayawati. We support her on this. Apart from this, I do not have any other problem or differences with the Samajwadi party or its chief Mulayam Singh Yadav."

Hasan said apart from him and Jai Prakash, MP from Mohanlalganj, there are five other MPs who will vote against the government. But, "I will not tell you their names now, you will know when the confidence vote is taken," he said.

 Email this Article      Print this Article

© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback