You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » PTI
Search: The Web
  Discuss this Article   |      Email this Article   |      Print this Article

It's the clash of chief ministers in Goa
Rupesh Samant in Panaji
Related Articles
Poll a choice between Saturn and Narkasura: Remo

Get news updates:What's this?
May 29, 2007 14:39 IST

The 40-member Goa Assembly polls, scheduled on June 2, will decide the fate of six former chief ministers and the current chief minister in the state.

Of them, four are contesting on Congress ticket and one each on Bharatiya Janata Party, Nationalist Congress Party and Save Goa Front.

Two former chief ministers -- Luzinho Faleiro (Congress) and Churchill Alemao (SGF) -- are fighting against each other in South Goa's Naveli constituency.

Goa's Chief Minister Pratapsingh Rane is contesting on a Congress ticket from his traditional Poriem constituency.

Rane, chief minister of Goa for five times since 1980, holds the record for serving maximum on the chair.

Rane became chief minister after the Congress' first ever win in 1980 after the Goa Liberation 1961. He retained the post of the Union territory after the 1985 election.

Rane also led Goa to statehood and became the first official chief minister of Goa state. Goa was made into full-fledged statehood on May 30, 1987, but the elected Assembly led by Rane was allowed to continue till the expiry of term of five years.

After that Rane continued to be chief minister till 1990.

The Poriem legislator was again sworn in for a five-year term in 1994 and 2005 till date.

The Congress party, which ruled the state for most years post-liberation, has four former chief ministers along with Rane in the fray.

Ravi Naik, Goa Pradesh Congress Committee chief and a two-time chief minister between 1991 to 1993 and just for a week in April 1994, is contesting from Ponda constituency.

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
 Email this Article      Print this Article

© 2007 India Limited. All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Feedback