Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article

Home > News > Report

BJP names 7 women candidates from Uttarakhand

Onkar Singh in New Delhi | January 20, 2007 13:13 IST

Bharatiya Janata party named 7 women candidates out of a list of 51 candidates for the forthcoming Uttarakhand state assembly elections that are scheduled to be held in February. In the outgoing assembly BJP had 19 MLAs and almost all of them have been re-nominated from their present constituencies.

The central election committee of the party would meet again on January 23 when it would take up the list of 19 members whose names could not be finalised on Friday.

Those who attended the meeting included former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, former BJP president L K Advani, BJP state unit president and former Chief Minister Bhagat Singh Koshiari, Bhuvanchand Khanduri, chairman campaign committee, Ravi Shankar Prasad, party's man incharge of Uttrakhand, general secretaries.

Vimla Nautiyal has been given the party nomination from Yamunotri assembly segments while Chhavi Tyagi has been accommodated from Iqbalpur seat in Haridwar. Sitting MLA Vijaya Bhartwal has been re-nominated from Yamkeshwar. Dipti Rawat has been given the party ticket from Bironkhal while Mrs Asha Rani Nautiyal, sitting MLA, has been renominated from Kedarnath assembly constituency.

Bina Maharana has been given the party's nomination for Champawat and Shanti Bhandari will file her nomination on behalf of the party from Kanchilchina assembly segment in Pithoragarh belt. According to the party sources at least two more women could be given the party tickets in the second list.

BJP is stuck in Tehri. The son of the former Maharaja has claimed the party nomination on behalf of his father for the Tehri Lok Sabha seat while the ace shooter Jaspal Rana has also showed his keenness to contest from the Tehri seat.

Efforts are on to persuade Rana to give up his claim and settle for a nomination from any seat of his choice for the state assembly. Rana is currently in Mumbai and is likely to reach Delhi on Monday evening and would visit the BJP headquarters in Delhi to press for his acceptance of his demand.