Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this article

Home > News > Report

Chandrasekhar Rao wins the battle of Telangana

Syed Amin Jafri in Hyderabad | December 07, 2006 11:17 IST
Last Updated: December 07, 2006 16:45 IST

Related Articles
Today's Top Reports
'Krishna river will flow full of blood'

Riding on the crest of Telangana sentiment for a separate state, Telangana Rashtriya Samithi president and former Union minister K Chandrasekhar Rao has scored a landslide victory in the Lok Sabha by-election in Karimnagar constituency in this backward region even as the Congress has wrested Bobbili Lok Sabha seat in north coastal Andhra from the Telugu Desam Party in a neck-to-neck race.

On conclusion of counting, KCR was declared elected, trouncing his nearest Congress rival T Jeevan Reddy by 201,582 votes. In Bobbili, Congress candidate Botsa Jhansi Lakshmi won the seat by a razor-thin margin of 157 votes over her nearest Telugu Desam Party rival K Appala Naidu.

TDP finished third and BJP was relegated to the fourth position in Karimnagar. BJP was placed in third position in Bobbili too.

Barring Jagtial assembly segment, held in the Assembly by Jeevan Reddy, KCR led massively in all the six other segments-Karimnagar, Choppadandi, Buggaram, Metpalli, Sircilla and Nerella-in the sprawling constituency. He polled 378,030 votes. Jeevan Reddy came second with 176,448 votes.

Ramana, TDP candidate who had represented this Lok Sabha constituency once,secured170,268 votes this time. BJP's Vidyasagar Rao, who was elected twice in the past and served as a minister of state at the Center during the NDA regime, could get only 21,144 votes and forfeited his deposit.

In Bobbili constituency, it was a neck-and-neck race that ultimately saw the Congress candidate Jhansi Lakshmi emerge victorious, though by a miniscule margin of 157 votes after re-totalling was conducted by the Returning Officer.

Jhansi Lakshmi is the chairperson of Vizianagaram Zilla Parishad and wife of State Marketing Minister Botsa Satyanarayana. The defeated TDP candidate Appala Naidu is the son of former MP K Pydithalli Naidu, whose death caused the by-election. BJP candidate P Sanyasi Raju finished a distant third and lost his deposit.

Share your comments

 What do you think about the story?

Read what others have to say:

Number of User Comments: 19

Sub: Its the victory of Telengana People

The win of KCR shows how the people react when it comes to TELANGANA issue. It's time for Congress to reestimate their plans on Telangana.

Posted by Vinay K

Sub: win what ..

if he won this election problem ..its his dream to get seperate telangana ....this selfish politicians cannot disintegrate ANDHRA PRADESH ..

Posted by naveen

Sub: hope he will fullfill the expectations of telagana people

Telagana people have given landslide victory to KCR.Hope he will not misuse the belief of telagana people.

Posted by syed.khadhar

Sub: congratulations kcr garu

the telangana people atlast have showed thier unity. the credit goes to kcr.atleast now upa chair person sonia gandhi to talk about is the ...

Posted by raghuveer

Sub: Its gr8!!

Congrtulations to telangana people and KCR.We will get telengana verysoon as a 30th state.

Posted by Ravinder reddy



Copyright © 2006 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.