The Web


 Latest News on mobile: sms NEWS to 7333

Home > News > Report

Pappu Yadav quits RJD, may rejoin LJP

Anand Mohan Sahay in Patna | February 06, 2005 15:44 IST

Jailed Rashtriya Janata Dal Lok Sabha member Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav on Sunday resigned from the primary membership of the party.

Also Read

Interview with Sushil Modi

Mobile phones, drugs and knives in Bihar jails

What to do with Pappu Yadav?

Pappu Yadav spoke to ministers from jail

He will also resign from the membership of the House soon, sources close to him told

Pappu Yadav resigned over Lalu Prasad's 'highhandedness' in the distribution of tickets for the assembly polls.

Yadav, who has already resigned from RJD's parliamentary board due to differences with Lalu Prasad over ticket distribution, threatened on Saturday that he would quit the party, resign as Member of Parliament and seek election afresh from Madhepura.

Lalu had dared Yadav to quit the party or resign as MP.

"I dont care, he (Pappu) is free to quit or go wherever he likes."

RJD's poll prospects would remain unaffected by whether Pappu leaves or stays, Lalu said. "Pappu should leave the RJD without any delay."

Yadav hinted that he would rejoin Ramvilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party after quitting the RJD.

He had quit the LJP last year to join the RJD after he was defeated in last year's parliamentary elections.

He won from Madhepura in the by-election last year on an RJD ticket.

Pappu Yadav, who is lodged in the Beur jail in connection with the murder of Communist Party of India (Marxist) member of Legislative Assembly Ajit Sarkar, said Lalu had given tickets to criminals and rapists. While Yadav loyalists got only two to three tickets.

7333: The Latest News on Your Mobile!

More reports from Bihar
Read about: Satyendra Dubey Murder Case

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Discontent in RJD

Rly fines RJD for defacement

RJD doesn't need Cong in Bihar

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.