» Movies » Akshay Kumar wins National Award for Rustom

Akshay Kumar wins National Award for Rustom

Source: PTI
Last updated on: April 07, 2017 19:07 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Akshay Kumar in RustomA look at the winners of the 64th National awards.

Akshay Kumar won his first National award for his role in courtroom drama Rustom, inspired by the 1959 Nanavati case, while Marathi film Kaasav was named the Best Picture.

Akshay played a patriotic naval officer, who ends up in jail after killing his wife's lover.

Directed by Tinu Suresh Desai, the film was loosely based on the murder of Prem Ahuja by Commander K M Nanavati. 

Rajesh Mapuskar got the Best Director award for his Marathi film Ventilator.

The jury, headed by filmmaker Priyadarshan, chose Amitabh Bachchan-starrer PINK, a female-centric courtroom drama, as the Best Film on Social Issues.

Surabhi C M was named the Best Actress for her in the Malayalam film Minnaminungu-The Firefly.

Sonan Kapoor-starrer Neerja, a story on flight attendant Neerja Bhanot who was killed by terrorists while saving passengers after the plane was hijacked, bagged the Best Hindi Film award.

The actress received a special mention for her critically-lauded performance.

Dhanak was named the Best Children Film while Telugu movie Sathamanam Bhavathi was chosen as the Popular Film.

Kashmiri actress Zaira Wasim was named the Best Supporting Actress for her role in Aamir Khan-starrer Dangal.

Here's the entire list:

Best Debut Film of a Director: Deep Chaudari (Alifa)
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Sathamanam Bhavathi
Best Stunt Choreography: Peter Hein (Pulimurugan)
Best Children's Film: Dhanak (Hindi)
Best Film on Social Issues: PINK
Best Direction: Rajesh Mapuskar (Ventilator)
Best Actor: Akhay Kumar (Rustom)
Best Actress: Surabhi Minnaminungu (Minnaminungu-The Firefly)
Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim (Dangal)
Best Child Artist: Adhish Praveen (Kunju Daivam), Saj (Noor Islam) and Manohara (Railway Children)
Best Male Playback Singer: Sundara Iyer (Joker)
Best Female Playback Singer: Thume Jaake
Best Screenplay (original): Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaram)
Best Screenplay (adapted): Sanjay Krishnaji Patel (Dashakriya)
Best Editing: Rameshwar (Ventilator)
Sound designer: Jayadevan (Kaadu Pookunna Neram)
Best Production Design: 24
Best Costume Designer: Sachin (Marathi film)
Best Make-up Artist: MK Ramakrishna
Best Music Direction: Babu Padmanabha (Kannada Lama)

Special Mention

* Kadvi Hawa
* Adil Hussain for Mukti Bhawan (Hindi)
* Adil Hussain for Majirathi Keki (Assamese)
* Sonam Kapoor for Neerja
* Madipur (Tulu)
* Joker (Tamil)
* Wrongside Raju (Gujarati)
* Pelli Chupulu (Telugu)
* Dasakriya (Marathi)
* Maheshinte Prathikaram (Malayalam)
* Ke Sara Sara (Konkini)
* Reservation (Kannada)
* Neerja (Hindi)

Special Jury award

*Mohanlal for Pulimurugan
*Janatha Garage and Munthirivallikal Thalirkkumbol

Best Feature Films in regional languages

* Madipur (Tulu)
* Joker (Tamil)
* Wrongside Raju (Gujarati)
* Pelli Chupulu (Telugu)
* Dashakriya (Marathi)
* Bisarjan (Bengali)
* Maheshinte Prathikaram (Malayalam)
* Ke Sara Sara (Konkini)
* Reservation (Kannada)
* Neerja (Hindi)

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.