NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Business » Nilekani, Bajaj bag awards for philanthropy

Nilekani, Bajaj bag awards for philanthropy

December 02, 2013 15:04 IST

As many as 11 people, including members from the influential Nilekani, Bajaj and Godrej families, were honoured for their outstanding contribution towards the good of the society at Forbes India Philanthropy Awards.

Rohini Nilekani, founder of Arghyam, and Nandan Nilekani, Infosys co-founder who presently heads the Unique Identification Authority of India, won the second Forbes India Philanthropy Award in Outstanding Philanthropist category for the year 2013.

As many as 11 winners received their awards in Bangalore on November 29.

The Godrej and the Bajaj families won the awards in the Outstanding Corporate Foundation and the Distinguished Family categories, Forbes India said in a statement.

The philanthropy awards were instituted by Forbes India to recognise the efforts of individuals who have given time, money, skill and expertise to solve some of the most pressing societal issues, to create model institutions and inspire others.

Nandan Nilekani said: "Philanthropy should go where markets don’t and governments can’t."

On the government's mandate of spending 2 per cent of profits on corporate social responsibility initiatives, Biocon CMD Kiran Mazumdar Shaw said it should be looked at by companies as an opportunity to make social impact.

Among other winners, Ramesh and Swati Ramanathan, founders, Janaagraha, won the Crossover Leader award that recognises a professional who has successfully made the transition from a thriving career in the corporate world to work for the social or not-for-profit sector.

Romesh Wadhwani, founder, chairman and CEO of Symphony Technology Group won the 'Distinguished Non-Resident philanthropist' award and Archana Raghuram, Director-Outreach at Cognizant Technology Solutions was given the 'Good Samaritan Award'.

Narayana Health won 'the Good Company' award; Anu Aga, Former chairperson, Thermax and Chairperson, Teach For India, won the Corporate Catalyst award and Amit Chandra, MD, Bain Capital, won the NextGen leader in Philanthropy award. 

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.