Print this article

Sunil Mittal to head E&Y award jury panel

May 23, 2006 12:48 IST

Sunil Bharti Mittal, chairman and group managing director, Bharti Enterprises, will be chairman of the jury of World Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards, 2006, at Monte Carlo, Monaco.

Mittal will be the first Indian to chair the jury panel for these distinguished international award.

Kumar Mangalam Birla, chairman, Aditya Birla Group, will represent the country at this year's WEOY awards and will be inducted in the World Entrepreneur Of The Year Academy in Monte Carlo. Birla was adjudged Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2005 for India.

In a media release, E&Y said Mittal has been associated with the awards earlier as Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2004 and was also inducted into the World Entrepreneur of the Year Academy in 2005.

Entrepreneur of the Year Award winners from 40 countries will gather in Monte Carlo for the 2006 World Entrepreneur Of The Year awards, which will be announced on June 10, 2006.

"This is a proud moment for India. Mr Mittal truly exemplifies the spirit of entrepreneurship and has made an impact that goes beyond merely running a profitable business. His strong entrepreneurial instinct, his vision and his achievements make him a natural choice for the Chairman of the WEOY Jury, " said, Rajiv Memani, CEO and country managing partner, Ernst & Young.

Ernst & Young first created the Entrepreneur Of The Year award in 1986 in the US to honour the perseverance and ingenuity of those brilliant entrepreneurs who have created and sustained successful business ventures.

Over the past 21 years the Ernst & Young program has expanded to over 125 cities and 40 countries worldwide. Ernst & Young India launched the Program in 1999, making it the first country in the Firm's Asia-Pacific region to introduce this initiative.

Past recipients of the Entrepreneur Of The Year awards include Mukesh D Ambani (Reliance), Brijmohan Lall Munjal (Hero Group), N R Narayana Murthy (Infosys), Ratan Tata (Tata Group), Jeff Bezos (, Michael Dell (Dell Computers), Howard Schultz (Starbucks Coffee), Jerry Yang (Yahoo) and Scot Kriens (Juniper Networks).

Do you want to discuss stock tips? Do you know a hot one? Join the Stock Market Investments Discussion Group

BS Corporate Bureau in New Delhi