Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Get news updates:

Home > India > Votes09 > PTI

BSP to contest all seats in Kerala

March 17, 2009 15:51 IST

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) will contest all 20 parliamentary seats in Kerala [Images] without an alliance or understanding with any party, BSP general secretary Suresh Mane said.

The party has already announced the list of 13 candidates, including Dr Neelalohitadas from Thiruvananthapuram, K K Nair from Pathanamthitta and J Sudhakaran from Attingal.

The remaining seven candidates will be announced tomorrow in Kozhikode, Mane told mediapersons here today. He said BSP has emerged as a "powerful" alternative to United Democratic Front and Left Democratic Front as the people were fed up with the policies and programmes of UDF and LDF.

The party hopes to get "massive" support from Dalits, Dalit Christians and even Muslims, Mane said. The party's election campaign in Kerala will begin at Thiruvananthapuram on March 21 and party president and Uttar Pradesh [Images] Chief Minister Mayawati [Images] will address the rally, he said.

© Copyright 2009 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
   Discuss   |      Share with friends   |      Print   |   Ask a question  Ask a question   |  Get latest news on your desktop  Get latest news on your desktop