The Web


Home > Assembly Elections 2005 > Haryana > PTI > Report

Cong secures majority in Haryana

February 27, 2005 13:39 IST
Last Updated: February 27, 2005 18:18 IST

The Congress secured a two-thirds majority in Haryana on Sunday.

The Congress wrested power from the Indian National Lok Dal, winning 67 of the 90 seats.

The INLD won nine seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party, an alliance partner of the INLD in the previous election, won two seats.Others have won 12 seats.

Chief Minister Om Parkash Chautala (Indian National Lok Dal) won in Rori.

Congress leader Bhajan Lal has retained his Adampur seat.

Other prominent winners in the state are industrialist O P Jindal (Hisar), Congress Legislative Pary leader Ajay Yadav (Rewari) and former finance minister and state Congress general secretary Mange Ram Gupta (Jind).

Bhajan Lal's son Chander Mohan romped home from Kalka.

The Congress has considerably improved its performance compared with elections in 2000 and 1996 when it won 21 and nine seats respectively, down from 51 in 1991.

Accepting the people's verdict against him, Chautala tendered the resignation of his council of ministers to Governor A R Kidwai on Sunday evening.

Adampur: Congress leader Bhajan Lal.

Rori: Chief Minister Om Parkash Chautala (INLD) beat his nearest rival by a margin of 26,578 votes.

Narwana: Randeep Singh Surjewala (Congress) beat Om Prakash Chautala (INLD) by a
margin of 1,887 votes.

Meham: Former minister Anand Singh Dangi (Congress) beat Rajbir Singh Samain (INLD) by a margin of 23,00 votes.

Ambala city: Former Union minister Vinod Sharma (Congress) defeated Surjit Singh Sondha (INLD) by 33,309 votes.

Ambala Cantonment: Devinder Kumar Bansal (Congress) beat Anil Vij (Independent) by a margin
of 619 votes.

Ellenabad (SC): Former parliamentarian Sushil Kumar Indora (INLD) beat Mani Ram Keherwala (Congress) by a margin of over 1,600 votes.

Sadhaura (SC): Balwant Singh (INLD) beat Deep Chand (Independent) by a margin of
8,442 votes.

Thanesar: Ramesh Gupta (Congress) beat Transport Minister and Haryana INLD President Ashok
Arora by a margin of 14,781 votes.

Kaithal: Former Haryana Pradesh Congress Committee president Shamsher Singh Surjewala
beat Kailash Bhagat (INLD) by a margin of 4,658 votes.

Darba Kalan: Bharat S Beniwal (Congress) beat Vidya Devi (INLD) by a margin of
11,444 votes.

Jagadhari: Subash Chaudhary (Congress) beat Bishan Lal Saini (INLD) by a margin of 3,500

Chachrauli: Arjan Singh (Bahujan Samaj Party) beating Akram Khan (INLD) by a margin of 4,231 votes.

Yamunanagar: Krishna Pandit (Congress) beat Sahib Singh (INLD) by a margin of 14,700 votes.

Naraingarh: Ram Kishan (Congress) beat Pawan Dewan (INLD) by a margin of 7,769 votes.

Bhattu Kalan: Kulbir Singh Beniwal (Congress) beat Finance Minister Sampat Singh (INLD) by a margin of 9,868 votes.

Rajond: Satvinder Singh (Congress) defeated Balraj Singh (INLD) by a margin of 2,788 votes.

Fatehabad: Dula Ram (Congress) beat Swatantar Bala (INLD) by a margin of 10,625

Ratia: Gian Chand Odh (INLD) beat Gurdip Singh Gill (Congress) by a margin of 10,051

Dabwali (SC): Sita Ram (INLD) beat Jagan Nath (Congress) by a margin of 8,025 votes.

Taoru: Sahida (INLD) beat Zakir Hussain (Congress) by a margin of 964 votes.

Radaur (SC): Ishwar Singh Palaka (INLD) beat Lehri Singh (Congress) by a margin of
5,000 votes.

Hassanpur (SC): Uday Bhan (Congress) beat Jagdish Nayar (INLD) by a margin of 1,700

Pataudi: Bhupinder Chaudhary (Congress) beat Ganga Ram (INLD) by a margin of
8,516 votes.

Palwal: Karan Singh Dalal (Congress) beat Subash Katyal (INLD) by a margin of 28,000

Faridabad: A C Chaudhary (Congress) beat Chander Bhatia (BJP) by a margin of 51,000

Ballabgarh: Sharda Rathor (Congress) beat Mul Chand Sharma (INLD) by a margin of
21,000 votes.

Mewla Maharajpur: Mahendar Pratap (Congress) beat Krishna Pal Gujjar (Bharatiya Janata Party) by a
margin of 63,000 votes.

Hassan Garh: Naresh Malik (BJP) beat Balwant Singh (INLD) by a margin of 10,098

Jundla (SC): Meena Mandal (Congress) beat Nafe Singh (INLD) by a margin of 2,100

Kalanaur (SC): Kartar Devi (Congress) beat Mewa Singh (INLD) by a margin of 5,843

Karnal: Sumita Singh (Congress) beat Dharampal Gupta (INLD) by a margin of 34,000

Kiloi: Siri Kishen Hooda (Congress) beat Prem Singh (INLD) by a margin of 31,275

Rohtak: Shadi Lal Batra (Congress) beat Surinder Lal Sethi (INLD) by a margin of 10,476

Uchana: Birender Singh (Congress) beat Desh Raj (INLD) by a margin of 12,832 votes.

Nilokheri: Jai Singh Rana (Congress) beat Bakshish Singh (BJP) by a margin of 12,300

Gurgaon: Dharambir Gauba (Congress) beat former Deputy Speaker Gopi Chand Gehlot
(INLD) by a margin of about 50,000 votes.

Indri: Rakesh Kamboj (Congress) beat Ashok Kashyap (INLD) by a margin of 9,578 votes.

Pundri: Dinesh Kaushik (Independent) beat Narinder Sharma (INLD) by a margin
of 8,026 votes.

Guhla (SC): Deelo Ram (Congress) beat Buta Singh (INLD) by a margin of 10,082 votes.

Pai: Tejinder Singh Mann (Independent) beat Ram Pal Majra (INLD) by a margin of
6,602 votes.

Kalayat (SC): Geeta Bukal (Congress) beat Pritam Singh (INLD) by a margin of 1,412

Complete Coverage: Assembly Elections 2005

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.