The Web


Home > Assembly Elections 2005 > Bihar > PTI > Report

Minister, MP barred from two Bihar districts

February 22, 2005 12:25 IST

Union minister Akhilesh Prasad Singh and Lok Janshakti Party leader Surajbhan have been barred from entering East Champaran and Patna districts, respectively.

Motihari District Magistrate-cum-District Election Officer Vinay Kumar banned the entry of Singh, Rashtriya Janata Dal leader and Lok Sabha member from Motihari, for three days from Monday "apprehending disturbance" during the last phase of election on February 23.

"We have asked Singh not to enter his constituency following the Election Commission's guidelines on preventing entering of any person with bodyguards in a constituency where he is not a voter," Kumar said.

Singh, minister of state for agriculture, food and civil supplies, is not a voter of Motihari.

Patna District Magistrate-cum-District Election Officer Sudhir Kumar said Surajbhan, who represents Balia in the Lok Sabha, was ordered not to enter the district between for 24 hours starting 1700 IST, Tuesday.

Complete Coverage: Assembly Elections 2005

© Copyright 2005 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Copyright © 2005 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.