The Web


Home > Assembly Elections 2004 > Maharashtra > PTI > Report

The Battle for Maharashtra

Cong-NCP bag 10 seats; saffron 6

October 16, 2004 11:13 IST

Ruling Congress-NCP alliance was on Saturday ahead in 144 seats winning ten seats, while Shiv Sena-BJP combine was leading in 100 constituencies bagging six seats in the keenly contested Maharashtra assembly elections.

With the contest turing out to be close, the rebels and independents, who could play a key role in government formation were ahead in about 30 seats.

State industry minister Patangrao Kadam won from his Bhilwadi-Wangi assembly constituency by over one lakh votes, while Dhanaji Ahire won from Sakri. While Congress has bagged four seats, its ally NCP has got six seats.

BJP has won two seats and Shiv Sena four. Among the Congress-NCP winners were Rohidas Patil (INC) from Kusumba, Ramesh Kadam (NCP) from Chiplun, Bashir Patel (NCP) from Umarkhadi, Uttam Bhalerao (NCP) from Chandwad, Rajwardhan Kadambande (NCP) from Dhule, Ramraje Nimbalkar-Naik (NCP) from Phaltan, Arjun Pawar from Kalvan and Sachin Ahir from Shivdi. Pratap Jadhav of Shiv Sena has won the Mehkar seat.

BJP candidates Vijaykumar Deshmukh and Suresh Khade have won from Solapur City (north) and Jat respectively.

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

NCP rebels to test Pawar at home

Athavale backs Cong-NCP

Ex-MPCC chief quits Cong

People Who Read This Also Read

Cong-NCP 139; saffron 119

Game over for us: Sushma Swaraj

Bihar: Pappu Yadav leading

Share your comments

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.