The Web


Home > News > Elections 2004 > Report

Sonia to be sworn in as PM on Wednesday Newsdesk | May 17, 2004 20:14 IST
Last Updated: May 17, 2004 22:07 IST

After holding a second round of talks with allies on Monday evening, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi has decided to be sworn in as the prime minister of India on Wednesday, May 19.

Earlier in the evening, in a sudden development Sonia Gandhi held one round of talks with her allies amid speculation that the Congress chief may not stake her claim for prime ministership.

She had also called all the Congress Members of Parliament to her 10 Janpath residence in Delhi.

Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Laloo Prasad Yadav, Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam chief Muthuvel Karunanidhi, Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam chief Vaiko and Lok Janshakti chief Ramvilas Paswan were some of the prominent allies who held talks with Sonia.

The Congress chief will President A P J Abdul Kalam on Tuesday after he invited her for talks on government formation.

Senior party leader Pranab Mukherjee, who addressed the gathering with Manmohan Singh after the meeting said, "There is no scope for any rumour now and the time of the meeting will be communicated to you."

Laloo reacted sharply to rumours that Sonia Gandhi would nominate senior party leader Manmohan Singh as the prime minister of the new coalition government saying they were spread by those who had circulated that 'Ganeshji drank milk'.

"Soniaji is the leader of all the allies and there should be no confusion," Yadav told reporters.

He praised Gandhi for taking allies into confidence on each and every issue.

He also commended the role of the Left parties in the formation of the new government but did not say anything on their decision to stay out of it.

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Sonia meets pre-poll allies

Race for ministerships in Cong

Sonia to meet President Monday

India Votes 2004

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.