The Web


Home > News > Elections 2004 > PTI > Report

Nitish Kumar voted out of Barh, wins in Nalanda

May 13, 2004 19:08 IST

Railway Minister and senior Janata Dal-United leader Nitish Kumar was voted out of Barh, the constituency from which he had been elected five times earlier, but was elected to the Lok Sabha from Nalanda.

Kumar lost his Barh seat to the Rashtriya Janata Dal's Vijay Krishna by a margin of over 30,000 votes. He had previously won Barh in 1989, 1991, 1996, 1998 and 1999.

In Nalanda, Kumar defeated his nearest Lok Janshakti Party rival Pushpendu Kumar by a margin of over 95,000 votes. 

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Know the Janata Dal (United)

Sena won how many seats in '99?

Rajiv Rudy on Chhapra poll

India Votes 2004

© Copyright 2004 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.