The Web


Home > News > Elections 2004 > Report

Reddy chosen Andhra CLP leader Election Bureau | May 12, 2004 13:58 IST
Last Updated: May 12, 2004 15:09 IST

Congress leader Dr Y S Rajasekhar Reddy will be Andhra Pradesh's new chief minister.

Reddy, who steered the party to a landslide victory, was unanimously elected Congress legislature party leader at a meeting of the new legislators in Hyderabad on Wednesday.

Also Read

Special: Reddy for Power

Will NDA lose AP?

In Cuddapah, YSR is king

His name was proposed by PCC president D Srinivas, who was also said to have been one of the contenders, and seconded by senior leader K Ranga Rao. All the MLAs seconded his candidature by a voice vote

Midway through the two-hour meeting, Congress general secretary Ghulam Nabi Azad and Reddy called up party chief Sonia Gandhi "to take her clearance", J Geeta Reddy, state Mahila Congress president, said.

The CM will be sworn in at 1300 IST, May 14, Azad said.

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Fight is on in Andhra Congress

A tale of three parties

Will he be the next CM of AP?

People Who Read This Also Read

Will NDA lose Andhra Pradesh?

Congress, BJP prepare for D-Day

Tighten L-1 visa norms: US body

India Votes 2004

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.