The Web


Home > News > Elections 2004 > Report

BJP, TDP reach seat-sharing pact

Syed Amin Jafri in Hyderabad | March 17, 2004 19:08 IST

Under a pact with the ruling Telugu Desam Party, the Bharatiya Janata Party will contest nine Lok Sabha and 27 assembly seats in Andhra Pradesh in the forthcoming elections.

Chief Minister and TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu and BJP general secretary Pramod Mahajan announced this after daylong talks in Hyderabad on Wednesday.

"I am very happy," Mahajan said. "It is not the numbers we are looking at. It is the friendship that is important."

He said the BJP central election committee would meet on March 21 and announce the list of candidates from Andhra Pradesh.

The BJP was allotted eight LS and 24 assembly seats in the simultaneous polls held in 1999. It won seven LS and 12 assembly seats at that time.

Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Write us a letter
Discuss this article

Related Stories

Advani, Naidu share dais

TDP may join Advani yatra

AP opposition 'guns' for Naidu

People Who Read This Also Read

Know the Telugu Desam Party

Heartburn over seatsharing in AP

TDP drops Balayogi's wife

India Votes 2004

Share your comments

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.