The Web


Home > Assembly Elections > PTI > Report

Raman Singh to be sworn in on Dec 7

December 05, 2003 17:17 IST
Last Updated: December 05, 2003 20:19 IST

Raman Singh, who has been elected leader of the Chhattisgarh BJP legislature party, will be sworn in as chief minister on December 7. The swearing-in ceremony will take place at 1000 IST, Union minister Ramesh Bais said.

Singh was elected at a meeting of Chhattisgarh's newly elected legislators in Raipur on Friday. The meeting was attended by BJP chief M Venkaiah Naidu, former Union minister Dilip Singh Judeo and leader of the opposition in the outgoing assembly, Nand Kumar Sai.

BJP has won 51 seats in the 90-member Chhattisgarh legislative assembly.

Shortly after his election, Singh met Governor Lt Gen K M Seth and staked claim to form a government.

Singh, 52, is a Lok Sabha member from Rajnandgaon. He did not contest the December 1 assembly election in the state.


Article Tools
Email this article
Print this article
Write us a letter

Related Stories

BJP has majority in Chhattisgarh

BJP rallies behind Judeo

BJP wins semis 3-1

People Who Read This Also Read

Raje embarrassed at PM's rally

Cong innings over, says Advani

Pak for full mission strength

© Copyright 2003 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Copyright © 2003 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.