The Web


Home > Assembly Elections > PTI > Report

RJD, BJP share honours in Bihar

December 02, 2003 15:12 IST

The Rashtriya Janata Dal and Bharatiya Janata Party on Tuesday retained Barabhatti (SC) and Sitamarhi constituencies respectively while the Janata Dal-United was leading in Fatuha (SC) in the Bihar assembly by-polls.

The RJD's Samata Devi won from Barabhatti; she defeated her nearest JD-U rival Rajesh Kumar by 7,191 votes.

In Sitamarhi, BJP nominee Sunil Kumar trounced his RJD rival Shahid Ali Khan by a margin of 34,316 votes.

JD-U nominee Saryug Paswan was leading by 14,451 votes over Nageshwar Paswan of the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) at the end of 6th round of counting in Fatuha.

The by-poll for the three seats was held on November 20.

Article Tools
Email this article
Print this article
Write us a letter

Related Stories

RJD to contest in Delhi polls

Laloo to visit Assam next week

PM assures Laloo of co-operation

People Who Read This Also Read

Exit polls: Cong -2, BJP-2

Musharraf suggests Kashmir deal

Rivals still in awe of Digvijay

© Copyright 2003 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Share your comments

Copyright © 2003 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.