NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Teams eyeing No 1 ranking as ODI season kicks-off

Teams eyeing No 1 ranking as ODI season kicks-off

Last updated on: October 30, 2012 16:25 IST

Teams eyeing No 1 ranking as ODI season kicks-off



With the limited-overs' cricket season set to start, all eight leading One-day sides are eyeing the ICC ODI Championship table. The battle for the coveted No.1 position remains tight, with World champions India in third position, just one rating point behind South Africa.

Currently, only 17 ratings points separate the top six sides, with England and South Africa on equal points at 121.

However, Alastair Cook's side is rated above South Affrica by a fraction of a point, while India, with 120 points, is behind the Proteas by only a rating point.

Four-time World champions Australia (113) trail India by seven points. Sri Lanka are placed fifth on 108.

The 1992 World champions, Pakistan, are further down at No. 6, four ratings points behind the Lankans, and New Zealand are on 74 ratings points.

But with six top ranked ODI sides, along with the West Indies and New Zealand, gearing up to play a number of ODIs, mostly in the new year, the ranking table could witness a lot of changes before the April 1 cut-off date.

The team, which finishes No. 1 on April 1 cut-off date, will collect a cheque of $ 175,000 along with a shield, while the second-placed team will get $ 75,000.

Sri Lanka will have to win the series against New Zealand, starting on November 1 at Pallekele, to stay ahead of Pakistan in fifth place.

Image: MS Dhoni
Photographs: Philip Brown/Reuters


Teams eyeing No 1 ranking as ODI season kicks-off

Prev     More


A 3-2 series win for New Zealand will mean Sri Lanka will slip to 103 ratings points, one behind Pakistan, while a 5-0 series win for Sri Lanka will put it just three ratings points behind fourth-ranked Australia.

In January 2013, Australia will host Sri Lanka for a five-ODI series, England will play five ODIs in India, and New Zealand will travel to South Africa for three ODIs.

ODI series taking place from February-March include Australia vs West Indies (in Australia, five ODIs), New Zealand vs England (in New Zealand, three ODIs) and South Africa vs Pakistan (in South Africa, five ODIs).

After the Sri Lanka-New Zealand series, Bangladesh will host the West Indies for a five-ODI series.

These series will be the countdown to the final edition of the ICC Champions Trophy.

In June 2013, defending champions Australia will be looking for a treble, having won the previous two editions of the tournament (2006 and 2009).

But Australia will face stiff challenge from former champions South Africa (1998), New Zealand (2000), India and Sri Lanka (2002), and West Indies (2004), who will also be looking to lift the trophy for a second time by winning the final edition of the event.

Prev     More
© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.