NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Miller storms into record books

Miller storms into record books

Last updated on: May 7, 2013 14:42 IST

Miller storms into record books



David Miller's sensational 38-ball 101 innings helped him rewrite a few IPL records.

Statistical highlights of the IPL match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kings XI Punjab in Mohali on Monday.

# David Miller (101 not out off 38 balls) registered his highest score in Twenty20.

# The 23-year-old South African's knock is the fifth hundred for Kings XI Punjab at the IPL; he joins Paul Valthaty, Shaun Marsh, Mahela Jayawardene and Adam Gilchrist in the list.

# Miller is the second Punjab batsman after Adam Gilchrist to register a hundred against Bangalore at the IPL.

# Miller and Sathish added an unbroken stand of 130 -- Punjab's highest fifth-wicket partnership -- equalling a record at the IPL.

# Miller's 38-ball century is the third fastest at the IPL, behind the 30-ball hundred by Chris Gayle and the 37-ball hundred by Yusuf Pathan.

# Miller, in the course of his maiden hundred, completed his 2000 runs in Twenty20, totalling 2075 at an average of 39.90 in 86 matches.

# Miller is the second number five batsman to post a century at the IPL. Yusuf Pathan had scored 100 for Rajasthan against Mumbai at Brabourne stadium, Mumbai ,on March 13, 2010.

# Miller got his second Man of the Match award at the IPL

# He is the first player to register two fifties in 25 balls or less at IPL 6.

# His is also the fifth player to post four innings of fifty or more at IPL 2013, joining David Warner, Chris Gayle, Michael Hussey and Rohit Sharma.

Image: David Miller
Photographs: BCCI


Highest successful chase

Prev     Next


# Kings XI Punjab have won six and lost five out of 11 matches against Bangalore at the IPL.

# Punjab's 194 for four is the highest successful chase by any team at IPL 2013.

# In Punjab's innings, the last five overs recorded 99 runs -- the most in five consecutive overs in any IPL match.

Chennai had posted 99 between 12th and 16th overs against Rajasthan Royals at Chepauk on April 3, 2010.

# Michael Neser (4-0-62-0) is the first bowler to concede 60 runs or more in an innings on debut at the IPL.

Image: David Miller celebrates with teammates
Photographs: BCCI

Prev     Next

Pujara records first fifty at the IPL

Prev     More


# Cheteshwar Pujara (51 off 48 balls) recorded his first fifty at the IPL.

# Pujara and Gayle have registered the second instance when both the openers posted fifties for Bangalore at the IPL -- the first occasion being Gayle (57) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (53) against Pune Warriors.

# Chris Gayle (566 at an average of 70.75 in 12 matches) is the leading run-getter in the present tournament.

# Gayle and Cheteshwar Pujara shared a partnership of 102 -- Bangalore's highest opening stand against Punjab at the IPL.

# Virat Kohli has become the fourth player to make 400 runs or more at the IPL -- 405 (ave.36.81) in 12 matches. He joined Chris Gayle (566), Michael Hussey (507) and Rohit Sharma (414).

# Vinay Kumar has captured 19 wickets (ave.20.42) in 12 matches -- the second highest tally at the IPL 6, behind the 20 (ave.17.05) in 12 matches by Dwayne Bravo.

Image: Cheteshwar Pujara
Photographs: BCCI

Prev     More
© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.