» Cricket » World T20: Guide to England vs New Zealand semi-final

World T20: Guide to England vs New Zealand semi-final

March 29, 2016 13:59 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

England face unbeaten New Zealand in the first semi-final of 2016 World T20 at New Delhi’s Ferozshah Kotla Stadium on March 30.

While England have been champions in 2010, New Zealand will be eyeing their first World T20 title.

Following is a factbox of the two teams:

World T20 head to head:

Played: 4; England won: 2; New Zealand won: 2


IMAGE: England's players celebrate after winning their match. Photograph: Adnan Abidi/Reuters.

World ranking: Five

Squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Ray, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, James vince, David Willey

Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Best overall performance: Champions (2010)

Road to semi-final:

* Lost to West Indies by six wickets

* Beat South Africa by two wickets

* Beat Afghanistan by 15 runs

* Beat Sri Lanka by 10 runs

Top scorer: Root (168 runs)

Top wicket-taker: Willey (six wickets)

New Zealand

IMAGE: New Zealand players celebrate the wicket of Pakistan's Sharjeel Khan during their ICC World T20 match at PCA Stadium in Mohali on Tuesday. Photograph: Shahbaz Khan/PTI.

World ranking: Two

Squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Grant Elliot, Colin Munroe, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

Coach: Mike Hesson

Best overall performance: Semi-finals (2007)

Road to semi-final:

* Beat India by 47 runs

* Beat Australia by eight runs

* Beat Pakistan by 22 runs

* Beat Bangladesh by 75 runs

Top scorer: Guptill (125 runs)

Top wicket-taker: Santner (nine wickets)

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
© Copyright 2023 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.

IPL 2023

IPL 2023