NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Vijay Hazare Trophy: Yusuf scores ton as Baroda register first win

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Yusuf scores ton as Baroda register first win

February 26, 2012 18:18 IST

All-rounder Yusuf Pathan scored a blistering century as Baroda defeated Saurashtra by 52 runs to register their first win in the Vijay Hazare Trophy in Mumbai on Sunday.

Pathan's 78-ball 114, which included 10 sixes and six fours, helped Baroda score 315-8 in their 50 overs.

Saurashtra were then bowled out for 263, despite a maiden ton by 23-year-old Sheldon Jackson who scored 117 (120b, 4x7, 6x5).

Pathan, who came to the crease with Baroda at 3-101 in the 24th over, single-handedly demolished the Saurashtra attack while completing his century in just 69 balls with the help of nine sixes and six fours.

Openers K Devdhar (45), A Waghmode (38), Ambati Rayudu (33) and A Karambelkar (37) too chipped in with useful scores for Baroda. All-rounder C Jani and Kamlesh Makwana picked up two wickets apiece for Saurashtra.

Chasing a target of 316, Saurashtra began disastrously losing opener S Jogiyani in the first over for a nought. Veteran Sitanshu Kotak made 24 before being dismissed by pacer Munaf Patel.

Skipper Cheteshwar Pujara (32) and Jackson added 103 runs for the third wicket, but after Pujara's dismissal by Gagandeep Singh in the 30th over with the score on 154, Saurashtra lost regular wickets.

Jackson was fifth out in the 42nd over with the team's total on 239.

Besides, Jackson and Pujara, only Kuldeep Raval offered some resistance with a 19-ball 38, inclusive of five fours and two sixes, but that was never going to be enough.

Left-arm spinners Bhargav Bhatt (3-49) and Swapnil Singh (3-51) were the pick of the bowlers for Baroda while Munaf and Gagandeep shared two-wickets apiece.

Mumbai and Maharashtra have already qualified from the West Zone for the knockouts.

Brief scores: Baroda 315 in 50 overs (Yusuf Pathan 114, K Devdhar 45, A Waghmode 38; C Jani 2-52, Kamlesh Makwana 2-52) beat Saurashtra 263 all out in 44.5 overs (S Jackson 117, Kuldeep Raval 38, C Pujara 33; Bhargav Bhatt 3-49, Swapnil Singh 3-51) by 52 runs.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.