» Cricket » Tendulkar shortlisted for 'Laureus Sporting Moment'

Tendulkar shortlisted for 'Laureus Sporting Moment'

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Harish Kotian
February 03, 2020 20:51 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Sachin Tendulkar is carried by his teammates after winning the 2011 World Cup in Mumbai on April 21, 2011

IMAGE: Sachin Tendulkar is carried by his teammates after India’s 2011 World Cup triumph in Mumbai on April 21, 2011. Photograph: Robert Cianflone/Getty Images

Cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar has been shortlisted among five contenders for the greatest ‘Laureus Sporting Moment 2000-2020’ award.


The winner will be selected after the third and final round of voting, which ends on February 16.

The moment, titled 'Carried On the Shoulders Of A Nation', is a reference to the Indian cricket team's 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup triumph.

In his sixth attempt, Tendulkar finally tasted success in 2011 as India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final.

Carried on the shoulders of his teammates, Tendulkar did a lap of honour, shedding tears of joy, after victory was sealed in his home city, Mumbai.

Earlier, Tendulkar was one of the 20 contenders for the award.

The foundation has launched the ‘Laureus Sporting Moment 2000-2020’ to public vote, which gives fans opportunity to choose one of the winners of the prestigious Laureus World Sports Awards.

The winner will be announced during the Laureus World Sports Awards Show on February 17 in Berlin.

The 20th anniversary Laureus World Sports Awards will honour the greatest sporting triumphs of 2019 and will award the greatest Laureus Sporting Moment of the last 20 years. This campaign shortlists 20 sporting stories from the last 20 years that have left their mark on the world.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Harish Kotian© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021