« Back to articlePrint this article

5 new faces in under-19 team

November 12, 2003 18:26 IST

Prolific batsman Ambati Rayudu has been retained as captain of the India Under-19 team for the November 18-20 match against Sri Lanka 'A' in Rajkot.

The Board of Control fro Cricket in India selection committee, however, dropped four players - Sahil Kukreja, Sunny Singh, Piyush Chawla and Sourav Sarkar - from the 14-member squad that won the Under-19 Asia Cup in Pakistan last week.

The new faces in the team are Sachin Dholpure and Amal Kokje of Madhya Pradesh, R P Singh and Tahir Abbas of Uttar Pradesh and Abhishek Sharma of Delhi, a statement from the BCCI said.

The team: A T Rayudu (capt), Robin Utappa, Shivkant Shukla, Avinash Yadav, V R V Singh, Suresh Raina, Rakesh Solanki, Raiphi Gomez, Dinesh Karthik (vice-captian and wicket-keeper),

Irfan Pathan, Sachin Dholpure, Tahir Abbas, Amal Kokje, Abhishek Sharma and R P Singh.

Coach: Robin Singh.