« Back to articlePrint this article

Stats: New Zealand spinners script history against India at Nagpur

Last updated on: March 16, 2016 14:56 IST

Favourites India were humbled by New Zealand in their opening match of the ICC World Twenty20, in Nagpur, on Tuesday night.

Chasing a seemingly innocuous target of 127 on a turning surface at the Vidarbha Cricket Association stadium, the hosts were dismissed for 79.


In the process, New Zealand extended their unbeaten run against the Indians to five in as many meetings.

It was the lowest total India failed to chase down in a 20-over game, and their second lowest in the format.

New Zealand’s three spinners – Nathan McCullum, Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi – fashioned the unexpected rout, taking nine wickets between them.

Check out some statistical highlights from the Super 10 Group 2 match.

IMAGE: New Zealand's players celebrate the dismissal of India's Suresh Raina. Photograph: Danish Siddiqui/Reuters.

# New Zealand's victory by 47 runs is their third largest in terms of runs in World Twenty20 -- the two biggest being by 83 runs vs Ireland at Nottingham on June 11, 2009 and by 59 runs vs Bangladesh at Pallekele on September 21, 2012.

# New Zealand's victory is their biggest over India in terms of runs in Twenty20 Internationals -- their seventh largest in terms of runs in T20Is.

# New Zealand enjoys 100 per cent success against India in T20Is, winning all five games - 10 runs at Johannesburg in a World Twenty20 fixture on September 16, 2007; 7 wickets at Christchurch on February 25, 2009; 5 wickets at Wellington on February 27, 2009, one run at Chennai on September 11, 2012 and 47 runs at Nagpur (World Twenty20) on March 15, 2016.

# New Zealand could reach 33 runs for the loss of two wickets in the powerplays -- the lowest for them in the 14 T20Is since the conclusion of the 2014 edition of the World Twenty20. They had managed 34 runs for three versus Pakistan at Dubai on December 4, 2014.

# For the first time in a T20I, India conceded two sixes in the first over of a match -- both by Ravichandran Ashwin -- first-ball six by Martin Guptill and off the fourth delivery of the over by Colin Munro.

# Corey Anderson produced a strike rate of 80.95 during his innings of 34 off 42 balls -- the lowest by a New Zealand batsman (25 or more in T20Is). The previous lowest strike rate by a Kiwi batsman was 90.00 by Ross Taylor, during his innings of 27 off 30 balls vs Sri Lanka at Lauderhill on May 22, 2010.

# New Zealand (126/7) registered their lowest total versus India in T20Is, eclipsing the 150 for five at Wellington on February 27, 2009.

# New Zealand's score is their second lowest successfully defended by them -- the lowest is 120 for seven vs Sri Lanka at Lauderhill on May 22, 2010.

# India had lost four wickets in the powerplays – the joint-most by them in T20Is -- the previous two instances were against Australia -- 30 for four at Melbourne on February 1, 2008 and 24 for four at Bridgetown on May 7, 2010.

# India lost the first seven wickets for 43 runs -- the first instance when they lost seven wickets for less than 50 runs in a T20I innings. In the first 15 overs, India amassed 61 runs for the loss of seven wickets -- the lowest by them in T20Is - the previous lowest being 62 for seven vs Australia at Melbourne on February 1, 2008 while being dismissed for 74.

# India's 79 is the lowest all-out total in T20Is in India, eclipsing the 82 by Sri Lanka vs India at Visakhapatnam on February 14, 2016.

# India's score is their second lowest all-out score in T20Is next only to the 74 vs Australia at Melbourne on February 1, 2008.

# Ravindra Jadeja registered his second duck in T20Is -- the first was against England at Kolkata on October 29, 2011.

IMAGE: New Zealand's Mitchell Santner celebrates. Photograph: Getty Images.

# Mitchell Santner (4/11) registered his best bowling performance in T20Is, eclipsing the 2 for 14 vs Pakistan at Auckland on January 15, 2016.

# Santner's bowling performance is the best by any bowler in T20Is involving India and New Zealand, bettering the 4 for 20 by Daniel Vettori for New Zealand at Johannesburg on September 16, 2007. Mark Gillespie had taken four wickets for seven runs versus Kenya at Durban on September 12, 2007 to produce the best by a New Zealand bowler in World T20.

# Santner received his first Man of the Match award in T20Is.

# Mahendra Singh Dhoni (30) recorded his highest score versus New Zealand in T20Is, eclipsing the 28 not out at Wellington on February 27, 2009.

# Dhoni's innings is his highest in T20Is since January 2013, eclipsing the 27 not out versus England at Birmingham on September 7, 2014.

# Ish Sodhi (3/18) also produced his best bowling performance in T20Is, surpassing the 2 for 27 versus South Africa at Centurion on August 16, 2015.

# Spinners claimed nine wickets in a T20I innings for the third time. The first two instances being - Zimbabwe versus Canada at King City on October 13, 2008 and Sri Lanka versus Zimbabwe at Hambantota on September 18, 2012.

- ICC World T20: Complete Coverage

- ICC World T20: Points Table

© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.