» Cricket » Sri Lanka fire cricket selectors ahead of World T20

Sri Lanka fire cricket selectors ahead of World T20

Source: PTI
March 08, 2016 10:24 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Aravinda De Silva

IMAGE: Sri Lanka's selection committee chief Aravinda De Silva (left) with Kumar Sangakkara. Photograph: Reuters.

Sri Lanka Cricket has sacked the national cricket selection committee ahead of International Cricket Council World T20 which begins with the qualifiers, on Tuesday, in India.

The sacking comes in the wake of the national team's poor performances in the just-concluded Asia Cup in Bangladesh and the preceding bilateral series in India. In January, Sri Lanka had also lost its No 1 ICC Twenty20 ranking after they tasted defeat against New Zealand.

Former batsman Aravinda de Silva will lead the new panel. He has been joined by the recently retired Kumar Sangakkara, his 1996 World Cup winning teammate Romesh Kaluwitharana and Lalith Kaluperuma, a former chairman of selectors who had played in Sri Lanka's inaugural Test match in 1982.

Ranjith Madurasinghe, who was also a Test player in the mid 1980s, is the fifth member of the panel. They will replace the Kapila Wijegunawardena headed committee appointed in April 2015.
The sacking of selectors was part of a recent action by the new Thilanga Sumathipala headed Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) administration to shore up the sagging fortunes of the team.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

T20 World Cup 2021