NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Under 19 World Cup: India to face Pakistan in campaign opener

Under 19 World Cup: India to face Pakistan in campaign opener

December 14, 2013 18:32 IST

Under 19 World Cup: India to face Pakistan in campaign opener



The Indian Under-19 cricket team will open its campaign in next year's ICC World Cup against arch-foes Pakistan when the event is staged at the Dubai International Stadium on February 15.

India will launch their ICC U19 Cricket World Cup title defence.

The tournament will be staged across seven venues in the United Arab Emirates from February 14 to March 1, and will also be participated in by Afghanistan, Canada, Namibia, Papua New Guinea, Scotland and the UAE besides the 10 Full Members.

India, which had won the tournament under Mohammad Kaif and Virat Kohli in 2000 and 2008 respectively, defeated Pakistan by one-wicket in an enthralling semi-final before going on to beat Australia by six wickets in the 2012 final in Townsville, Australia.

Image: The Indian players celebrate with the Under-19 World Cup trophy
Photographs: Matt Roberts/Getty Images


Under 19 World Cup: India to face Pakistan in campaign opener

Prev     More


In the 2010 event in New Zealand, Pakistan beat India in a last-ball thriller in the quarter-final in Lincoln. The two sides also met in the final of the U19 World Cup 2006 in Colombo where Pakistan defended a modest total of 110 to win by 39 runs.

In the 16-day tournament, 48 matches will be played across seven venues - Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi; Abu Dhabi Oval 1; Abu Dhabi Oval 2; Sharjah Cricket Stadium; Dubai International Cricket Stadium, DubaiSportsCity; ICC Academy Oval 1, Dubai, and ICC Academy Oval 2, Dubai.

On the opening day of the tournament, four matches will be played with 1998 winner England taking on the UAE, Zimbabwe locking horns with Canada, New Zealand meeting Sri Lanka, and South Africa taking on the West Indies.

The format of the competition is such that the 16 teams have been divided into four groups, with the top two teams progressing to the Super League quarter-finals, while the two bottom teams from each group qualify for the Plate Championship quarter-finals.

ICC General Manager (Cricket), Geoff Allardice, while announcing the groups and fixtures in Dubai, said, "The ICC U19 Cricket World Cup is a hugely important event for international teams and for the ICC as it showcases the future stars of international cricket."

The UAE tournament will be the 10th edition of the ICC U19 World Cup since its inception in 1988. Australia won the tournament in 1988, 2002 and 2010, England was the champion in 1998, India held aloft the trophy in 2000, 2008 and 2012 and Pakistan was the winner in 2004 and 2006.

The four groups are:

Group A: India, Pakistan, Scotland, PNG.

Group B: Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Namibia.

Group C: South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Canada.

Group D: New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, UAE.

Photographs: Matt Roberts/Getty Images

Prev     More