News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Srinivasan leaves former BCCI chief Dalmiya out in the cold

Srinivasan leaves former BCCI chief Dalmiya out in the cold

Last updated on: September 29, 2013 17:44 IST

Srinivasan leaves former BCCI chief Dalmiya out in the cold



He had bailed out N Srinivasan at his most critical juncture but former ICC and BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya has been left in the lurch if the various sub-committees formed at BCCI's Annual General Meeting on Sunday is any indication.

The veteran administrator has been re-named as the chairman of the North East Development Committee considered to be one of the least active sub-committees.

In fact three of Dalmiya's junior colleagues in Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) were given better committees than the former BCCI top boss.

CAB joint secretaries Subir Ganguly and Sujan Mukherjee were inducted into the all-powerful Indian Premier League governing council and the National Cricket Academy sub-committees respectively. Treasurer Biswarup Dey has been elevated from NCA sub-committee to finance committee under Gokaraju Gangaraju of Andhra Cricket Association.

"Ideally, Mr Dalmiya shouldn't have accepted the post of North East development committee chief. But refusing Srinivasan is rubbing him the wrong way and the consequences wouldn't be that great for Bengal cricket. But no doubt this has been humiliating for him (Dalmiya) and he knows that well," a senior BCCI official said.

Image: Jagmohan Dalmiya
Photographs: Jayanta Shaw/Reuters


Srinivasan leaves former BCCI chief Dalmiya out in the cold

Prev     Next


While Dalmiya's name was making rounds as the chairman of the IPL governing council last night, the appointment of Ranjib Biswal, despite vehement opposition from CAB, was an example that the shrewd Kolkatan has not gained much ground despite playing the role of troubleshooter for the Tamil Nadu strongman.

Dalmiya was made the interim chief of the BCCI when Srinivasan decided to step aside in the wake of IPL-6 spot-fixing scandal and the subsequent arrest of his son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan, who has been chargesheeted by Mumbai Police for illegal betting.

However, there is no denying the fact that the veteran administrator no longer holds the same influence among the eastern units and the astute businessman in Srinivasan cashed in on that by naming Biswal the chief of the IPL governing council.

Image: Jagmohan Dalmiya
Photographs: Jayanta Shaw/Reuters

Prev     Next

Srinivasan leaves former BCCI chief Dalmiya out in the cold

Prev     More


Biswal is a trusted lieutenant of Srinivasan having performed the duties as manager of the Indian team for the longest period of time. He is a popular figure among the Indian cricketers for his friendly nature.

With Odisha and Jharkhand (Amitabh Chaudhary appointed marketing committee head) getting plum posts, it is clear that Srinivasan has managed to breach eastern citadel.

"Mr Srinivasan is mulling on having an extended run beyond 2013-14 and the support of Odisha and Jharkhand will be very important in that context. With Tripura also by
Srinivasan's side, it's only Assam Cricket Association that is by Dalmiya's side," the source informed.

Dalmiya still has two votes (CAB and National Cricket Club) and it will be interesting to see what will be his course of action over the next few months.

The following office-bearers were also elected, for 2013-14:

Hony. Secretary – Mr. Sanjay Patel
Hony. Jt. Secretary – Mr. Anurag Thakur
Hony. Treasurer – Mr. Anirudh Chaudhry
Vice-President (North Zone) – Mr. S. P. Bansal
Vice-President (Central Zone) – Mr. Rajeev Shukla
Vice-President (South Zone) – Mr. Shivlal Yadav
Vice-President (West Zone) – Mr. Ravi Savant
Vice-President (East Zone) – Mr. Chitrak Mitra

The following statutory committees of the Board were constituted, as well:

All India Senior Selection Committee
1. Sandeep Patil – West (Chairman)
2. Rajinder Singh Hans – Central
3. Roger Binny – South
4. Vikram Rathour – North
5. Syed Saba Karim – East
6. Sanjay Patel – Hony. Secretary / Convenor

All India Junior Selection Committee
1. Connor Williams – West (Chairman)
2. Pritam Gandhe - (Central)
3. Aman Kumar – (North)
4. K. Jayaraman – (South)
5. Arup Bhattacharya – (East)
6. Anurag Thakur – Hony. Jt. Secretary / Convenor

Women's Selection Committee
1. Shanta Rangaswamy – South (Chairperson)
2. Gulshan Sharma – North
3. Gargi Banerjee – East
4. Amrita Shinde – West
5. Rita Dey – Central
6. Sanjay Patel – Hony. Secretary / Convenor

Umpires Sub-Committee
1. Ravi Savant -- Chairman
2. Sunil Dev (North)
3. Sudhakar Rao (South)
4. Rajesh Verma (East)  
5. Devendra Solanki (West)
6. Bhagvandas Sutar (Central)
7. S Venkataraghavan Director
8. A V Jayaprakash Retd. Test Umpire
9. Anurag Thakur Hon. Jt. Secretary/Convenor

Junior Cricket Committee
1. S P Bansal -- Chairman
2. Mehboob Iqbal (North)
3. T N Ananthanarayana (South)
4. Malay Chakraborthy (East)
5. Raju Kane (West)
6. Shoaib Ahmed (Central)
7. Anurag Thakur Hon. Jt. Secretary/Convenor

Tour Programme And Fixtures Committee
1. Rajeev Shukla -- Chairman
2. G S Walia (North)
3. P Yadgiri (South)
4. Satya Mohanty (East)
5. Nitin Dalal (West)
6. Mahendra Sharma (Central)
7. Sanjay Patel Hon. Secretary / Convenor
Finance Committee
1. Dr. G Ganga Raju -- Chairman
2. Arun Thakur (North)
3. Chetan Desai (South)
4. Biswarup Dey (East)
5. Niranjan Shah (West)
6. Kishore Dewani (Central)
7. Anirudh Chaudhry Hony. Treasurer/Convenor

IPL Governing Council
1. Ranjib Biswal -- Chairman
2. T C Mathew
3. Amitabh Choudhary
4. Chetan Desai
5. Nilay Dutta
6. Subir Ganguly
7. Ravi Shastri
8. G R Vishwanath
9. Arindam Ganguly - Special Invitee
10. C K Khanna - Special Invitee
All Office Bearers Of BCCI and Chairman, Finance Committee.

National Cricket Academy Board
1 T C Mathew -- Chairman
2 Sunil Dev Vice-Chairman
3 S. Lotlikar
4 Rajiv Singh
5 Rakesh Parikh
6 Gyanendra Pandey
7 K S Viswanathan
8. Sujan Mukherjee

Media Committee
Vinod Phadke -- Chairman
1. Ravi Jain – North (Vice-Chairman)
2. Dr. R.N. Baba – (South)
3. Anil Patel – (West)
4. Sharad Padhye – (Central)
5. Siba Prasad Tripathi – (East)

The Technical Committee will be chaired by Anil Kumble.

The Marketing Committee will be chaired by Amitabh Choudhary.

The Museum Committee will be chaired by Dr. C P Joshi.

An Anti-Corruption and Security Committee has been newly constituted. It will be chaired by Amitabh Choudhary, former Addn. DG of Police, Jharkhand.

Image: Jagmohan Dalmiya
Photographs: Tom Shaw/Getty Images

Prev     More
© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.