» Cricket » 'Tait can do damage on Indian pitches in World T20'

'Tait can do damage on Indian pitches in World T20'

January 19, 2016 12:18 IST

- 'He's one of the fastest bowlers in the world. Why wouldn't you have him in your squad?'

Shaun Tait

IMAGE: Shaun Tait in action during the Big Bash League. Photograph: Scott Barbour/Getty Images

Backing Shaun Tait's surprise return to the Australian T20 squad for the three-match series against India, former pacer Jason Gillespie said the tearaway speedster will cause a lot of damage on Indian tracks if he is included in the squad for the World T20.

Tait, who returns to the international scene after a five-year hiatus, was picked in the 17-member squad for the three-match series against India starting on January 26 with the Australian selectors indicating his extra pace could get him the nod for the World T20 to be held in India in March-April.

"Shaun Tait returns on the basis that he is the quickest bowler going around in Australia at the moment and he offers us that explosive option if we choose to use it," Australia's chairman of selectors Rod Marsh said.

Australian Big Bash T20 League team Adelaide Strikers' coach Gillespie has high hopes from the star player, who has impressed one and all in this Big Bash season.

"Yeah, I really do," Gillespie was quoted as saying on Cricket Australia's official website when asked if Tait could be effective on Indian pitches.

"He's one of the fastest bowlers in the world. Why wouldn't you have him in your squad?"

Meanwhile, Melbourne Renegades captain Cameron White, who has played 18 T20 matches with Tait for Australia, says the right-armer's inclusion is a wise decision by the National Selection Panel.

"Taity is a very well-liked person around traps so it's great to see him get another opportunity," White said. "He's still the fastest bowler in the comp so I think it makes sense to have an attacking weapon there."

Australia’s T20 squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Scott Boland, Cameron Boyce, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Shaun Tait, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.