NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Hopkins makes way for Young in NZ Test squad

Hopkins makes way for Young in NZ Test squad

December 22, 2010 13:36 IST

New Zealand named uncapped wicketkeeper Reece Young in their 13-man squad for the home Test series against Pakistan.

Gareth Hopkins makes way for Young after failing to impress on the Black Caps' recent tour of India.

Off-spinner Jeetan Patel and batsman BJ Watling were also dropped from the squad that will play Pakistan in two Tests, New Zealand Cricket (NZC) said in a statement on Wednesday.

"We have kept faith with the majority of the squad who performed well in the Test matches against India and are wanting to build on the positive steps the team took in that series," chief selector Mark Greatbatch said.

"One new face is wicketkeeper Reece Young, who gets a chance after performing well over a number of seasons at domestic and NZA level. It's disappointing for Gareth Hopkins who misses out on selection."

Greatbatch was replaced by John Wright as head coach on Monday after the recent poor showing on the tour to India and Bangladesh and was appointed chairman of the Black Caps' selection panel. He also maintains his role of batting coach.

Daniel Vettori was rested for the three-match Twenty20 series against Pakistan, starting on Sunday, and Ross Taylor will lead in his absence.

Peter McGlashan is likely to play wicketkeeper with Brendon McCullum still not 100 percent after suffering a back injury, Greatbatch said.

"Daniel Vettori is making good progress but back issue requires ongoing management," he added.

"As such, he will not take part in the Twenty20 series to give him time to recover and he is expected to be fully fit for the test series starting on January 7.

"Brendon (McCullum) is keen to play and we are monitoring his recovery closely. He will undergo fitness testing later this week and we will make a call closer to the start of the match."

The new selection panel, made up of Greatbatch, Glen Turner and Lance Cairns, also named a 30-man preliminary squad for next year's World Cup, to be staged in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

The squad, to be pruned to 15 players by Jan. 19, included seven uncapped one-day players in Young, Brent Arnel, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Adam Milne, Rob Nicol and Luke Woodcock.

"A number of uncapped guys who have excelled domestically made the squad. We believe it represents the best one-day cricketers we have in New Zealand," Greatbatch said.

The Black Caps will play six one-day internationals against Pakistan before they travel to the Feb. 19-April 2 World Cup.

T20 Squad: Dean Brownlie, Ian Butler, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Peter McGlashan, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor (captain), Luke Woodcock.

Test Squad: Brent Arnel, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCulluM, Andy McKay, Tim McIntosh, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori (captain), Kane Williamson, Reece Young.

Preliminary World Cup squad: Brent Arnel, Hamish Bennett, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Ian Butler, Grant Elliott, Daniel Flynn, Martin Guptill, Jamie How, James Franklin, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Peter McGlashan, Andy McKay, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Shanan Stewart, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor, Daryl Tuffey, Daniel Vettori, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson, Luke Woodcock, Reece Young.

© Copyright 2019 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.