Print this article

Ashwin wins International Cricketer of the Year award

May 24, 2017 14:26 IST

Ravichandran Ashwin

India off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin on Wednesday won the coveted International Cricketer of the Year award at the CEAT Cricket Rating International awards 2017.

The award was presented to Ashwin by former India skipper Sunil Gavaskar at a function held at the Cricket Club of India in Mumbai.

Ashwin was the wrecker-in-chief during the home season, where India won 10 of their 13 Tests played against New Zealand, England, Bangladesh and Australia.

The off-spinner has picked up 99 wickets in the past 12 months.

Meanwhile, young batsman Shubhman Gill won the Young player of the year award for his superb performance during the India-England Under-19 ODI series, played in Mumbai.

Speaking on the occasion, Ashwin recalled that his first autograph which he had taken was from Gavaskar at the Chepauk stadium in Chennai.

Ashwin also praised Tamil Nadu off-spinner Washington Sundar for his impressive show in the recently-concluded tenth edition of the Indian Premier League while playing for Rising Pune Supergiant.

"Washington did really well in the Vijay Hazare trophy. I had heard from a couple of people that he is doing well. He has got good idea of how to bowl in T20s and to ball with the new ball is a massive challenge.

"The first scar which you will inflict will always have value and he initially bowled well. The pace and the length which he hit was very very critical," said Ashwin.

Image: Ravichandran Ashwin

Photograph: BCCI

© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.