» Cricket » Ranji Trophy: Mumbai kick-off campaign against Haryana

Ranji Trophy: Mumbai kick-off campaign against Haryana

Source: PTI
July 09, 2013 16:05 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Defending champions Mumbai open their Ranji Trophy campaign in the 2013-14 season with an away Group A game against former champions Haryana from October 27-30.

Last year's losing finalists, Saurashtra, open their bid in Group B against two-time champions Rajasthan at home in Rajkot on the same dates as per the Ranji schedule on the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s website.

The season opens with the three-team NKP Salve Challenger Trophy, to be played at a yet to be decided venue between September 26 and 29, followed by the Duleep Trophy in South Zone between October 3 and 17.

The Mumbai Ranji Trophy team, champions in the 2012-13 seasonSouth Zone will also host the Deodhar Trophy limited-overs tournament from March 23 to 27. All the four games in the inter-zonal tournament will be day/night encounters.

Ranji Trophy groups:

Group A: Mumbai, Punjab, Gujarat, Delhi, Karnataka, Haryana, Orissa, Vidarbha and Jharkhand.

Group B: Saurashtra, Services, Uttar Pradesh, Railways, Baroda, Madhya Pradesh, Bengal, Tamil Nadu and Rajasthan.

Group C: Hyderabad, Maharashtra, Andhra, Assam, Kerala, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Tripura.

Ranji Trophy league schedule:

Round 1 (Oct 27-30):

Haryana v Mumbai in Haryana

Punjab v Orissa in Punjab

Vidarbha v Gujarat at Nagpur

Jharkhand v Delhi in Jharkhand (all Group A)

Saurashtra v Rajasthan at Rajkot

Services v Tamil Nadu at Delhi (to be hosted by Services)

Madhya Pradesh v Railways

Bengal v Baroda at Kolkata (all Group B)

Hyderabad v Andhra in Hyderabad

Maharashtra v Tripura in Maharashtra; Himachal v Goa in Himachal (all Group C).

Round 2 (Nov 7-10):

Punjab v Mumbai in Punjab

Gujarat v Delhi at Ahmedabad

Karnataka v Jharkhand in Karnataka

Vidarbha v Haryana at Nagpur (all Group A)

Railways v Saurashtra, to be hosted by Railways)

Baroda v Uttar Pradesh in Baroda

Madhya Pradesh v Tamil Nadu in Madhya Pradesh

Rajasthan v Bengal in Rajasthan (all Group B)

Assam v Hyderabad at Guwahati

Kerala v Andhra in Kerala

J and K v Goa in J and K

Tripura v Himachal at Agartala (all Group C).

Round 3 (Nov 14-17):

Mumbai v Delhi at Mumbai

Karnataka v Gujarat in Karnataka

Vidarbha v Orissa at Nagpur

Haryana v Jharkhand in Haryana (all Group A)

Saurashtra v Uttar Pradesh at Rajkot

Services v Rajasthan at Delhi (to be hosted by Services)

Baroda v Railways at Baroda

Bengal v Madhya Pradesh at Kolkata (all Group B)

Hyderabad v Maharashtra at Hyderabad

Andhra v Assam in Andhra

Kerala v Tripura in Kerala

Himachal v J and K in Himachal.

Round 4 (Nov 21-24):

Punjab v Gujarat in Punjab

Delhi v Haryana at Delhi

Vidarbha v Karnataka at Nagpur

Orissa v Jharkhand (all Group A)

Bengal v Saurashtra at Kolkata

Services v Madhya Pradesh at Delhi (to be hosted by Services)

Uttar Pradesh v Tamil Nadu in UP

Rajasthan v Railways in Rajasthan (all Group B)

Himachal v Hyderabad in Himachal

Maharashtra v Goa in Maharashtra

Andhra v J and K in Andhra

Tripura v Assam at Agartala (all Group C).

Round 5 (Nov 28-Dec 1):

Mumbai v Vidarbha at Mumbai

Haryana v Punjab in Haryana

Jharkhand v Gujarat in Jharkhand

Orissa v Karnataka at Cuttack (all Group A)

Tamil Nadu v Saurashtra at Chennai

Services v Bengal at Delhi (to be hosted by Services)

Rajasthan v Uttar Pradesh in Rajasthan

Baroda v Madhya Pradesh at Baroda (all Group B)

Andhra v Maharashtra in Andhra

Himachal v Assam in Himachal

J and K v Kerala in J and K

Goa v Tripura in Goa (all Group C).

Round 6 (Dec 6-9):

Mumbai v Jharkhand at Mumbai

Punjab v Vidarbha in Punjab

Orissa v Delhi at Cuttack

Haryana v Karnataka in Haryana (all Group A)

Uttar Pradesh v Services in Uttar Pradesh

Railways v Bengal, to be hosted by Railways

Tamil Nadu v Baroda at Chennai

Madhya Pradesh v Rajasthan in Madhya Pradesh (all in Group B)

Hyderabad v Tripura in Hyderabad

Maharashtra v J and K in Maharashtra

Assam v Goa at Guwahati

Kerala v Himachal in Kerala (all Group C).

Round 7 (Dec 14-17):

Mumbai v Orissa at Mumbai

Karnataka v Punjab in Karnataka

Gujarat v Haryana at Ahmedabad

Delhi v Vidarbha at Delhi (all Group A)

Madhya Pradesh v Saurashtra in Madhya Pradesh

Baroda v Services at Baroda

Bengal v Uttar Pradesh at Kolkata

Railways v Tamil Nadu, to be hosted by Railways (all Group B)

Goa v Hyderabad in Goa

Kerala v Maharashtra in Kerala

Andhra v J and K in Andhra

J and K v Assam in J and K (all Group C).

Round 8 (Dec 22-25):

Karnataka v Mumbai in Karnataka

Delhi v Punjab at Delhi

Gujarat v Orissa at Ahmedabad

Jharkhand v Vidarbha in Jharkhand (all Group A)

Saurashtra v Baroda at Rajkot

Railways v Services (match to be hosted by Railways)

Uttar Pradesh v Madhya Pradesh in Uttar Pradesh Tamil Nadu v Rajasthan at Chennai (all Group B)

J and K v Hyderabad in J and K

Maharashtra v Himachal in Maharashtra

Tripura v Andhra at Agartala

Goa v Kerala in Goa (all Group C).

Round 9 (Dec 30, 2013 to Jan 2, 2014):

Gujarat v Mumbai at Ahmedabad

Jharkhand v Punjab in Jharkhand

Delhi v Karnataka at Delhi

Orissa v Haryana at Cuttack (all Group A)

Saurashtra v Services at Rajkot

Uttar Pradesh v Railways, in Uttar Pradesh

Rajasthan v Baroda in Rajasthan

Tamil Nadu v Bengal at Chennai (all Group B)

Hyderabad v Kerala in Hyderabad

Assam v Maharashtra at Guwahati

Goa v Andhra in Goa

Tripura v J and K at Agartala (all Group C).

Prof. D B Deodhar Trophy (in South Zone, 1430 IST onwards):

Mar 23 (Quarter-final): Central Zone v East Zone (Match 1)

Mar 24 (Semi-Final 1): South Zone v North Zone (Match 2)

Mar 25 (Semi-final 2): West Zone v Winners of Match 1 (Match 3)

Mar 27: Final between Winners of Matches 2 and 3.

Image: The Mumbai Ranji Trophy team, champions in the 2012-13 season

Photograph: Bikash Mohapatra

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.