» Cricket » Ranji Roundup: Shreyas Iyer shines; Vinay, Raghu hand Punjab 1st win

Ranji Roundup: Shreyas Iyer shines; Vinay, Raghu hand Punjab 1st win

Source: PTI
October 27, 2017 20:26 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Shreyas Iyer shines as TN gains 3 pts from draw vs Mumbai

Shyeras Iyer

IMAGE: Mumbai’s Shreyas Iyer. Photograph: PTI

Talented Mumbai batsman Shreyas Iyer with an attacking 138 stole the show on the final day on Friday as the team's Ranji Trophy Group 'C' match against Tamil Nadu petered out to a draw at the Sharad Pawar Cricket Academy BKC in Mumbai.


Iyer's 11th first-class ton and his 187-run partnership with opener Akhil Herwadkar, who made 132, saw Mumbai make 371 for 5 before declaring in the second innings after conceding a 76-run lead to the visitors.

Tamil Nadu had posted 450 in reply to Mumbai's first innings total of 374. The game ended with Mumbai's declaration.

Tamil Nadu got three points while the home side had to settle for one.

Later, Surya Kumar Yadav (32) and Siddesh Lad (40) added to the total.

It was a tough day for the Tamil Nadu bowlers with only left-arm spinner Shah and Vignesh finding success. The country's premier off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin went wicketless in the 26 overs he bowled, conceding 110 runs.

Tamil Nadu batsman B Indrajith was named player of the match for the knock of 152.

Tamil Nadu has seven points from three games while Mumbai has four after two matches.

Brief scores: Mumbai 374 and 371 for 5 in 95 overs (Shreyas Iyer 138, Akhil Herwadkar 132) drew Tamil Nadu 450 (B Indrajith 152, V Yo Mahesh 103 not out). Points: TN: 3; Mumbai: 1.

At Vizianagaram: Andhra Pradesh 584 for 4 declared in 166 overs (G Hanuma Vihari 302 not out) vs Odisha 391 all out in 139.3 overs (Govinda Poddar 111, Subhransu Senapati 91, Bhargav Bhatt 4 for 77) and 152 for 7 in 55 overs (Biplad Samantaray 62 not out, Bhargav Bhatt 4 for 40). Points: Andhra Pradesh: 3; Odisha: 1.

Gowtham-Gopal duo bowls Karnataka to 59-run win

Leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal (4/91) and off-spinner Krishnappa Gowtham (3/92) shared bulk of the spoils as Karnataka beat Hyderabad by 59 runs in an exciting Ranji Trophy Group 'A' encounter, in Shimoga.
Chasing a target of 380, Hyderabad were all-out for 320 in 109.4 overs giving Karnataka, their second outright win in as many matches. Karnataka are now on top of group A with 13 points in 2 games.

In the end, it was the 57-run first innings lead that proved to be a clincher for the hosts.

Hyderabad started the day at 92 for 2 but suddenly slumped to 117 for 4 before BP Sandeep (80) and Akash Bhandari (28) built on a partnership of 93 runs for the fifth wicket before Gowtham breached Bhandari's defence.

The other significant partnership was between Sandeep and Ashish Reddy (58 no) as they added 73 for the eighth wicket before Vinay Kumar castled Sandeep.

However the target proved to be too big in the end for Hyderabad as Gopal had India international Mohammed Siraj caught and bowled to wrap up the match.

Brief Scores: Karnataka 183 and 332; Hyderabad 136 and 320 (BP Sandeep 80, Ashish Reddy 58 no, Shreyas Gopal 4/91, Krishnappa Gowtham 3/92). Karnataka won by 59 runs. Points: Karnataka 6; Hyderabad 0.

In Guwahati: Assam 244 and 55 (Anureet Singh 5/28, Deepak Bansal 2/6). Railways 483/7 decl. Railways won by an innings and 184 runs. Points: Assam 0 Railways 7

In Lucknow: Maharashtra 312 and 282/7 decl. Uttar Pradesh 271 and (target 324) 292 (Rinku Singh 122, Suresh Raina 5, Chirag Khurana 6/131). Maharashtra won by 31 runs.
Points: Maharashtra 6; UP 0. PTI KHS

Vinay, Raghu hand Punjab 1st win of Ranji season

Spin duo of Vinay Choudhary and Raghu Sharma shone with the ball as Punjab beat Goa by an innings and 133 runs to register their first win in this season's Ranji Trophy cricket tournament, in Porvorim.

Leg-break orthodox bowler Vinay (6/129) and leg-spinner Raghu (7/167) both returned with best match figures in their short first-class career to hand Punjab seven vital points from the Group D encounter.

Both Raghu (3/117) and Vinay (3/57) picked up three wickets apiece in the second innings to bundle out Goa for 256 in their second innings after following on.

A 90-run partnership for the last wicket between Darshan Misal (64) and No. 11 Rituraj Singh (51) - who both struck fifties - delayed Punjab's innings victory but their partnership was not enough to bail Goa out.

Brief Scores: Punjab 635 all out in 148.5 overs (Jiwanjot Singh 238, Gurkeerat Singh 114; Shadab Jakati 5/165) vs Goa 246 all out & 256 all out in 88.1 overs (Darshan Misal 64, Rituraj Singh 51; Raghu Sharma 3/117, Vinay Choudhary 3/57); Result: Punjab beat Goa by an innings and 133 runs.

At New Delhi: Himachal Pradesh 364 & 176/9 declared in 54.4 overs vs Services 215 all out & 228 all out in 78.4 overs; Gurvinder Singh 6/52); Result: Himachal Pradesh beat by 97 runs.

At Nagpur: Chhattisgarh 489 all out & 195/9 in 52 overs (Jatin Saxena 75; Akshay Karnewar 3/43, Umesh Yadav 3/50) vs Vidarbha 435 all all out. Result: Match drawn.

Mishra bowls 29 overs on return, Jharkhand log home 7 points

Amit Mishra bowled 29 overs without much success on his return as Jharkhand thrashed Haryana by 10 wickets to finish with 7 points in a Ranji Trophy Group B encounter.

Starting the final day at 141 for 4 in their second innings, Haryana ended at 296 with Rajat Paliwal scoring 93 and Rohit Pramod Sharma scoring 71. Shahbaz Nadeem again took 6 for 93.

Jharkhand were left to score 81 for victory and Ishan Kishan blasted 46 off 45 balls with the winners reaching the target in 10.4 overs.

Brief Scores: Haryana 208 and 296. Jharkhand 425/9 and 81/0 (Ishan Kishan 46 no). Jharkhand won by 10 wickets. Points: Jharkhand 7 Haryana 0

In Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala 335 and 250/4 decl Rajasthan 243 and (target 343) 211 (Robin Bist 70, Sijomon Joseph 5/84) Kerala won by 131 runs. Kerala 6 Rajasthan 0.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.