» Cricket » Shaw, Tare guide Mumbai to their fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy

Shaw, Tare guide Mumbai to their fourth Vijay Hazare Trophy

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Laxmi Negi
Last updated on: March 14, 2021 20:52 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:


IMAGE: Mumbai's players celebrate after victory over Uttar Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy final on Sunday.

Skipper Prithvi Shaw's marauding 73 off 39 balls, followed by former skipper Aditya Tare's unbeaten hundred, guided Mumbai to a crushing six-wicket victory over Uttar Pradesh in a lopsided final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy, in New Delhi, on Sunday.

Opting to bat, UP rode on opener Madhav Kaushik's unbeaten 158 to post 312 for 4, but it was overshadowed by a Shaw blitzkrieg, which set the platform for Tare to finish off the chase in style, with as many as 51 balls remaining.


This was Mumbai's fourth Hazare title and one to remember for Shaw (827 runs), who now holds the record for highest runs scored in single edition of the competition.

Shaw (73 off 39 balls; 10x4, 4x6) and fellow-opener Yashasvi Jaiswal (29; 3x4, 1x6) gave the side an aggressive start, conjuring up 89 runs in 9.1 overs.

Shaw started with a cover-drive, off left-arm seamer Yash Dayal. He got a 'life' on 5, dropped by Karan Sharma at mid-off, and then smashed three fours in the second over off Aaqib Khan.

He then took on Dayal, hammering two boundaries and a six over mid-wicket, his trademark pull-shot, as Mumbai raced to 32-0 after three overs.

Shaw continued his onslaught and notched his 50 off only 30 balls, with a six -- another pull shot -- but then holed in the deep off Shivam Mavi when another hundred looked imminent.

Jaiswal and Tare added 38-run stand, but the left-handed opener gave Shivam Sharma his first wicket, being caught by Mavi.

By then Mumbai were on course with a run-rate of 8.5 runs per over.

Veteran Tare, who hammered 18 boundaries in his 107-ball knock, anchored the innings and found an able ally in Shams Mulani (36), as Mumbai cruised to the target, with 174/2 after 25 overs.

Tare and Mulani kept playing shots at will as the pair added a crucial 88 runs for the third wicket.

But Mulani perished in the 31st over, with Mumbai still needing another 98 runs.

However, Tare kept the momentum going as he hammered Dayal for three boundaries in the 33rd over, even as Shivam Dube (42 off 28 balls; 6x4, 1x6) played a fitting cameo.

Tare completed his century in 91 balls, his first in List A cricket, with a single.

The Tare-Dube duo took Mumbai on the cusp of victory, adding 88 runs for the fourth wicket before the former skipper played a back cut between point and short third man to complete the formalities.

Earlier, UP rode on opener Kaushik's unbeaten 158 to post 312 for four.

Kaushik, who hammered 15 fours and four sixes, in his 156-ball knock and Samarth Singh (55 off 73 balls; 4x4; 3x6) added 122 runs for the first wicket to lay the foundation of a big score.

Kaushik is now the highest individual scorer in a National One Day Championship final, surpassing Mayank Agarwal's 125 against Punjab in 2014.

Brief Scores:

Uttar Pradesh: 312/4 (Madhav Kaushik 158 not out, Akshdeep Nath 55; Tanush Kotian 2/54, Prashant Solanki 1/71)

Mumbai: 315/4 (Aditya Tare 118 not out, Prithvi Shaw 73, Shivam Mavi 1/63) by six wickets.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Laxmi Negi© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

World Test Championship - 2021

World Test Championship - 2021