NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Pakistan World Cup squad: Malik, Akmal sidelined; Sohail makes cut

Pakistan World Cup squad: Malik, Akmal sidelined; Sohail makes cut

January 07, 2015 16:43 IST

Fast bowler Sohail Khan earned a surprise recall while Pakistan selectors ignored senior players Shoaib Malik and Kamran Akmal in their final 15-member squad for the World Cup.

Shoaib MalikThe 30-year-old Sohail was picked for his strong performances in domestic cricket this season, chief selector Moin Khan told reporters in Karachi on Wednesday.

"We have picked a balanced squad without any personal likes or dislikes and we considered all options without any grouses," chief selector, Moin told a news conference at the national stadium.

"There was a close tie between Sohail and the experienced Muhammad Sami as the selectors felt the team required an out and out fast bowler for the conditions in Australia and New Zealand," one selector said.

Sohail took six wickets in a match of the ongoing Pentangular Cup on Tuesday in Karachi.

Moin said the selectors had decided to go with a battery of pace bowlers while the spin department would be headed by experienced all-rounder Shahid Afridi.

The right-arm bowler has played two Tests and five One-Day Internationals but last represented Pakistan in Zimbabwe in 2011.

"This is the best possible squad from the available resources, and the selectors believe it has the requisite talent and skill-set to recapture the World Cup Down Under after 22 years", Moin said.

Misbah-ul-Haq had also recovered from a hamstring injury he sustained last month while playing against New Zealand in the United Arab Emirates and would lead the team in the February 14-March 29 tournament in Australia and New Zealand, Moin added.

Pakistan squad: Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Younus Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Harris Sohail, Umar Akmal, Sohaib Maqsood, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz, Ehsan Adil, Yasir Shah.

Image: Shoaib Malik

Photograph: Ashley Allen/Getty Images Latin America for CPL