« Back to articlePrint this article

T20 World Cup: Nitin Menon Only Indian Umpire

Last updated on: October 04, 2022 18:45 IST

IMAGE: Nitin Menon, the only Indian on the ICC Elite Panel, has already arrived in Australia for the T20 World Cup. Photograph: BCCI

India's Nitin Menon will be among the 16 umpires who will officiate in the ICC T20 World Cup in Australia later this month.

Menon, the only Indian on the ICC Elite Panel, has already arrived in Australia for the competition.

The ICC has announced 20 match officials for the First Round and Super 12s stage of the tournament.

'16 umpires will officiate across the tournament with Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Kumara Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus having been the umpires in charge of the 2021 final which saw this year's hosts claim their first ICC Men's T20 World Cup title,' the ICC said in a statement.

'It is an experienced group of umpires, with the same 16 selected as last year's tournament which was held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman,' the ICC added.

Chief Referee of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees Ranjan Madugalle is part of a quartet of former international cricketers who make up the match referees for the T20 World Cup.

Sri Lankan Madugalle is joined by Andrew Pycroft of Zimbabwe, England's Christopher Broad and Australian David Boon.

Pycroft will take charge of the tournament opener in Geelong on October 16 when Sri Lanka takes on Namibia in the first round with Joel Wilson and Rodney Tucker the umpires in the middle.

Paul Reiffel will act as the television umpire with Erasmus, occupying the role of the fourth umpire.

Erasmus, Tucker and Aleem Dar are all set to appear in their seventh ICC Men's T20 World Cup, with Langton Rusere umpiring in his second World Cup of the year having stood in the 2022 Women's ODI World Cup, including acting as reserve umpire for the final.

Match Referees: Andrew Pycroft, Christopher Broad, David Boon, Ranjan Madugalle.

Umpires: Adrian Holdstock, Aleem Dar, Ahsan Raza, Christopher Brown, Christopher Gaffaney, Joel Wilson, Kumara Dharmasena, Langton Rusere, Marais Erasmus, Michael Gough, Nitin Menon, Paul Reiffel, Paul Wilson, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Rodney Tucker.

© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.