« Back to articlePrint this article

World Record! Maharashtra's Gaikwad hits 7 sixes in an over

Last updated on: November 28, 2022 14:47 IST

IMAGE: Maharashtra's Ruturaj Gaikwad smashed his maiden double century in List A cricket. Photograph: BCCI

Maharashtra captain Ruturaj Gaikwad created a new world record as he became the first batter to hit seven sixes in a over in List A cricket, enroute to a swashbuckling double century against Uttar Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day quarter-final match at the Narendra Modi Stadium B Ground in Ahmedabad on Monday.


Gaikwad took Uttar Pradesh left-arm spinner Shiva Singh to the cleaners, slamming seven sixes in a row including one of a no-ball, to get 43 runs from the 49th over. He equalled the record of Northern Districts's batters Brett Hampton and Joe Carter off Willem Ludick, who hit Central Districts' Willem Ludick for six sixes, a four and a single in an over with two no-balls in a List A match in Hamilton, New Zealand in 2018.

The seven consecutive sixes also saw Gaikwad bring up his maiden double century in List A cricket from 153 balls.

Gaikwad, who plays for CSK in IPL, finished unbeaten on 220 from 159 balls, laced with 16 sixes and 10 fours, to power Maharashtra to a huge 330/5 in their 50 overs, with 58 coming from the last two overs.

He joins a select list of players, who have hit six sixes in an over in professional cricket, including Garry Sobers (1968), Ravi Shastri (1985), Herschelle Gibbs (2007), Yuvraj Singh (2007), Ross Whiteley (2017), Hazratullah Zazai (2018), Leo Carter (2020), Kieron Pollard (2021), Thisara Perera (2021) and Jaskaran Malhotra (2021).