» Cricket » Kohli named captain! Check out the WT20 team of the tournament

Kohli named captain! Check out the WT20 team of the tournament

April 04, 2016 18:19 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Virat Kohli was one of the top batsmen in the World T20, scoring a total of 273 runs at an average of 136.50 with three-half-centuries and a strike-rate of just under 147.

Virat Kohli

IMAGE: Virat Kohli smiles during a training session. Photograph: Ryan Pierse/Getty Images

India's batting sensation Virat Kohli was on Monday named captain of the ICC World Twenty20 team of the tournament, which also featured veteran seamer Ashish Nehra.

A select group of former cricketers and commentators picked up both the men's and women's teams for all conditions on the basis of the players' performances in the World T20, which concluded in Kolkata on Sunday with West Indies winning both the men's and women's titles.

Kohli was adjudged Man of the Tournament for his sublime form which made him the backbone of India's batting line-up. He scored 273 runs with a staggering average of 136.50 and an equally astounding strike-rate of 146.77 with three 50 plus scores.

The prolific right-hander hit 29 boundaries and five sixes in all and was second in the list of leading run-getters behind Tamim Iqbal of Bangladesh, who scored 295 runs, which also included the qualifying round.

Veteran Nehra handed India an early breakthrough in almost every game. He took only five wickets but was economical in all five games.

Besides two Indians, the men's team also comprised four players from runners-up England, two from the West Indies and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and South Africa. It also included a 12th man in Bangladesh fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman. The team did not feature any Pakistani player.

The women's team, meanwhile, did not have any Indian cricketer. It comprised four players from New Zealand, two players each from Australia, England and the West Indies, and  one each from Pakistan and South Africa.

Stafanie Taylor, who led West Indies to their first World T20 triumph, was named skipper of the women's team.

Announcing the squads, ICC General Manager, Cricket, Geoff Allardice, who chaired the meeting, said: "The experts had an extremely difficult task to select the men's and women's squads from around 400 cricketers who represented the 26 teams, thanks to outstanding performances by all the players at this hugely successful event.

Men's team:

1. Jason Roy (England)
2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper)
3. Virat Kohli (India, captain)
4. Joe Root (England)
5. Jos Buttler (England)
6. Shane Watson (Australia)
7. Andre Russell (West Indies)
8. Mitchell Santner (New Zealand)
9. David Willey (England)
10. Samuel Badree (West Indies)
11. Ashish Nehra (India)
12th man. Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

Women's team:

1. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
2. Charlotte Edwards (England)
3. Meg Lanning (Australia)
4. Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain)
5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)
6. Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper)
7. Deandra Dottin (West Indies)
8. Megan Schutt (Australia)
9. Sune Luus (South Africa)
10. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)
11. Anya Shrubsole (England)
12th player. Anam Amin (Pakistan)

Get Rediff News in your Inbox: